Wednesday, June 22, 2022

General Consent Report, OUSD Board of Education Regular Meeting

45 items totalGeneral: Passed 5–1General: Passed 6–0

Yearly caps are counted separately. 1 items set a limit per year instead of a total, adding up to $95K a year. They aren't in the spending total above. The largest is Olson Remcho Law Firm at up to $95K a year. Show yearly caps

Not counted in the totals above. $12.2M in budget allocations (1 item) · $82.4M in grants applied for (1 item)

  1. V.-1Extends the Escape Technology contract one year without bidding, up to $1,277,826.55
    +$1.28Mnot to exceed
  2. V.-2Pays up to $75,846.87 for 2022-23 student accident insurance through broker Myers-Stevens & Toohey
    $76Kcumulative
  3. V.-3Pays up to $54,001.48 for 2022-23 catastrophic accident insurance for students and volunteers
    $54Kcumulative
  4. V.-4Pays $3.5M for excess property and liability coverage and $967,000 for excess workers' comp coverage
    $3.50M
  5. V.-5Hires Arcina Risk Group for up to $25,000 for insurance archaeology and claims advocacy
    $25Knot to exceed
  6. V.-6Creates four new job descriptions and revises four others, including a mental health internships manager
    No cost stated
  7. V.-7Ratifies a $6,880 contract for arts activities and coordination at Oakland Fine Arts Summer School
    $7Knot to exceed
  8. V.-8Applies for $82.4M California Community Schools grant to continue and expand districtwide programs
    +$82.4Mcoming in
  9. V.-9Adds $20,000 and two months for expanded-learning grant project management, raising the cap to $50,000
    +$20Knew total $50K
  10. V.-10Pays Safe Passages up to $97,750 to coach leaders of 37 transitional kindergarten expanded learning programs
    $98Knot to exceed
  11. V.-11Ratifies a no-cost summer enrichment and child care program by Adventure Time at Montclair Elementary
    No cost stated
  12. V.-12Approves up to $1.5M agreement with Alameda County Health Care Services Agency for school health centers
    +$1.50Mcoming in
  13. V.-13Ratifies $1,000 for Zymbolic training on social and emotional learning for summer programming
    $1Knot to exceed
  14. V.-14Adds $2.5M to Maxim Healthcare's COVID testing and contact tracing contract, raising the cap to $4.6M
    +$2.50Mnew total $4.60M
  15. V.-15Finds Yu Ming Charter School cannot fit at one site and directs Proposition 39 facilities offers
    No cost stated
  16. V.-16Ratifies up to $95,000 a year for Olson Remcho law firm's work on redistricting and election matters
    $95K/yryearly cap
  17. V.-17Adopts a resolution aligning district COVID policies with state and county public health guidance
    No cost stated
  18. V.-18Ratifies two board president appointments to the Measure G1 teacher retention oversight commission
    No cost stated
  19. V.-19Adopts Measure N education plans and budgets for high schools totaling $12,169,283.67 for 2022-23
    $12.2Mcumulative
  20. V.-20Measure N agreement with ARISE High School: up to $333,200 for 2022-23
    $333Knot to exceed
  21. V.-21Measure N agreement with Aspire Golden State College Preparatory Academy: up to $254,150 for 2022-23
    $254Knot to exceed
  22. V.-22Measure N agreement with Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy: up to $570,425 for 2022-23
    $570Knot to exceed
  23. V.-23Measure N agreement with East Bay Innovation Academy: up to $481,525 for 2022-23
    $482Knot to exceed
  24. V.-24Measure N agreement with Envision Academy of Arts and Technology: up to $204,000 for 2022-23
    $204Knot to exceed
  25. V.-25Measure N agreement with Leadership Public Schools Oakland R&D: up to $352,750 for 2022-23
    $353Knot to exceed
  26. V.-26Measure N agreement with Lighthouse Community Charter High School: up to $244,800 for 2022-23
    $245Knot to exceed
  27. V.-27Measure N agreement with Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public School: up to $99,450 for 2022-23
    $99Knot to exceed
  28. V.-28Measure N agreement with Oakland School for the Arts: up to $234,600 for 2022-23
    $235Knot to exceed
  29. V.-29Measure N agreement with Oakland Unity High School: up to $307,700 for 2022-23
    $308Knot to exceed
  30. V.-30Lets named middle schools carry over unspent 2020-21 Measure G1 funds and approves their 2021-22 plans
    No cost stated
  31. V.-31Board adopts resolution amending the 2021-22 Measure G1 middle schools grant application and spending plan
    Cost not stated
  32. V.-32Board adopts resolution approving the 2022-23 Measure G1 middle schools grant application and spending plan
    Cost not stated
  33. V1.-1Awards Arntz Builders $15.99M to build Claremont Middle School's multi-purpose room and kitchen
    $16M
  34. V1.-2Awards Redgwick Construction $326,000 for new play structure and matting at Madison Park Academy
    $326K
  35. V1.-3Awards Arntz Builders $14.17M to replace the Laurel Child Development Center
    $14.2M
  36. V1.-4Credits the district $9,174.64 on Markham Elementary playmatting job and extends it to April 2022
    −$9Knew total $410K
  37. V1.-5Awards G & G Builders $596,516 for new play structure and matting at East Oakland Pride Elementary
    $597K
  38. V1.-6Hires AGS up to $127,083 for geotechnical consulting on McClymonds High School modernization
    $127Knot to exceed
  39. V1.-7Extends Jensen Hughes' MLK Jr. Elementary fire and intrusion alarm contract to June 2023, no added cost
    No cost stated
  40. V1.-8Hires ACC Environmental up to $7,826.50 to test soil at Burckhalter Elementary before new courts
    $8Knot to exceed
  41. V1.-9Adds $198,000 and a year to Lowe Consulting's labor-agreement compliance work for facilities projects
    +$198Knew total $756K
  42. V1.-10Pays Mayekawa USA up to $7,805 to inspect and train staff on the Center Project refrigeration system
    $8Knot to exceed
  43. V1.-11Hires King Construction Inspection up to $47,388 as state-required inspector at Melrose schoolyard project
    $47Knot to exceed
  44. V1.-12Hires Construction Testing Services up to $36,321 for materials testing at Melrose schoolyard project
    $36Knot to exceed
  45. V1.-13Hires School Facility Consultants up to $190,000 to pursue state and federal facilities funding
    $190Knot to exceed

This is an independent project created to provide transparency to the OUSD Community, and is not affiliated with Oakland Unified District. All data used to create the Consent Report Tracker is made public by Legistar, OUSD's official platform for posting legislative records. Plain-English summaries are written by AI with narrow parameters based upon the official text of the reports. Read about how all this works.

Get Updates

Your info is safe with us.