Thursday, December 14, 2023
General Consent Report, OUSD Board of Education Special Meeting
Largest items
Not-to-exceed amounts, one scale. Yearly caps excluded.
Spending by category
Categories and sub-categories are assigned by AI from each item's official text, using a fixed set of definitions. They can be wrong. How categories workSelect a category to filter the list.
- K.-1Accepts a $975,477 U.S. Education Department grant for the School Diversification Project+$975Kcoming in
- K.-2Hires Lozano Smith law firm for up to $10,000 of legal help on Nutrition Services contracts$10Knot to exceed
- K.-3Awards KM 106 Construction $173,980 to replace asphalt at Madison Park Primary$174K
- K.-4Ratifies up to $24,000 for critical incident training and consulting for schools$24Knot to exceed
- K.-5Ratifies up to $55,000 for UCLA research on Oakland Teacher Residency participants$55Knot to exceed
- K.-6Ratifies up to $15,000 for National Center for Teacher Residencies coaching and support$15Knot to exceed
- K.-7Partners with Notre Dame de Namur University on teacher intern and practica programs at no costNo cost stated
- K.-8Accepts a $500,000 federal grant for human trafficking prevention education+$500Kcoming in
- K.-9Accepts $15,000 from Salesforce Foundation for Melrose Leadership Academy staffing and art+$15Kcoming in
- K.-10Accepts $840,000 from Alameda County for student nutrition education and obesity prevention+$840Kcoming in
- K.-11Accepts $205,360 as the district's share of a federal grant for adult transition services+$205Kcoming in
- K.-12Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $172,082 to process equity and youth stipends$172Knot to exceed
- K.-13Ratifies up to $19,875 for Quetzal Education Consulting to support dual language schools$20Knot to exceed
- K.-14Ratifies up to $45,000 for Harvest Consulting staff training on racism and bias$45Knot to exceed
- K.-15Pays Museum of Children's Arts up to $23,500 for visual arts classes at East Oakland Pride$24Knot to exceed
- K.-16Ratifies up to $45,000 for a reading intervention teacher at Laurel Elementary$45Knot to exceed
- K.-17Ratifies up to $16,120 for Faucette Micro Systems to maintain the web504 database$16Knot to exceed
- K.-18Pays The IKUNA Group up to $8,000 for literacy and family engagement at Reach Academy$8Knot to exceed
- K.-19Ratifies up to $45,000 for Harmony Project after-school music classes at Allendale Elementary$45Knot to exceed
- K.-20Ratifies up to $40,000 for administrative support of Expanded Learning youth sports$40Knot to exceed
- K.-21Accepts $7.06M more from First 5 Alameda County, raising the contract to $11.89M+$7.06Mcoming in
- K.-22Pays Higher Ground up to $60,000 for in-class support and behavioral skill groups at East Oakland Pride$60Knot to exceed
- K.-23Ratifies up to $4,400 for a two-day teacher workshop at East Oakland Pride Elementary$4Knot to exceed
- K.-24Ratifies up to $15,000 for graphic design of Expanded Learning conference and event materials$15Knot to exceed
- K.-25Adds $96,030 for We Lead Ours tobacco-use prevention work, raising the contract to $196,030+$96Knew total $196K
- K.-26Ratifies $1,650 for a bath bomb wellness workshop for educators at Manzanita Community School$2Knot to exceed
- K.-27Ratifies up to $13,500 for Skillteck sports technology and coaching for Oakland Athletic League athletes$14Knot to exceed
- K.-28Ratifies up to $4,160 for family meeting and event planning at Edna Brewer Middle School$4Knot to exceed
- K.-29Ratifies up to $23,500 for The Crucible field trips and elective classes at McClymonds High$24Knot to exceed
- K.-30Ratifies a no-cost deal for Cal State East Bay student nurse interns in district schoolsNo cost stated
- K.-31Approves Oakland High boys basketball trip to Las Vegas, Dec. 17-22, at no cost to the districtNo cost stated
- K.-32Approves Oakland High boys basketball trip to Portland, Dec. 6-9, at no cost to the districtNo cost stated
- K.-33Ratifies up to $109,000 for Elite Security Services campus security through June 2024$109Knot to exceed
- K.-34Approves up to $99,000 for Applied GeoKinetics environmental consulting on vapor intrusion in 2024$99Knot to exceed
- K.-35Approves one-time salary adjustment for unrepresented and confidential employees and those with contractsCost not stated
- K.-36Approves settlement of unfair practice charges between the district and Oakland Education AssociationNo cost stated
- K.-37Approves tentative side letter agreement with AFSCME Local 257, pending public disclosureNo cost stated
- K.-38Approves tentative side letter agreement with SEIU Local 1021, pending public disclosureNo cost stated
- K.-39Approves tentative side letter agreement with United Administrators of Oakland Schools, pending disclosureNo cost stated
- K.-40Ratifies the Board's November 16, 2023 special meeting minutesNo cost stated
- K.-41Ratifies three appointments to the Measure BJY school facilities bond oversight committeeNo cost stated
- K.-42Adopts Measure G1 commission recommendations on school grant proposals and carryover fundingCost not stated
- K.-43Approves Ralph J. Bunche Academy's $71,410.39 Measures N and H carryover budget$71K
- K.-44Approves Madison Park Academy (Upper)'s $123,238.68 Measures N and H carryover budget$123K
- K.-45Approves Coliseum College Preparatory Academy's $194,651.20 Measures N and H carryover budget$195K
- K.-46Approves Castlemont High School's $157,926.83 Measures N and H carryover budget$158K
- K.-47Approves McClymonds High School's $120,977.35 Measures N and H carryover budget$121K
- K.-48Approves Oakland High School's $201,757.04 Measures N and H carryover budget$202K
- K.-49Approves Oakland Technical High School's $432,102.01 Measures N and H carryover budget$432K
- K.-50Approves Dewey Academy's $120,907.39 Measures N and H carryover budget$121K
- K.-51Approves Oakland Emiliano Zapata Street Academy's $42,632.23 Measures N and H carryover budget$43K
- K.-52Approves Sojourner Truth Independent Study's $244,836.07 Measures N and H carryover budget$245K
- K.-53Approves Life Academy of Health and BioScience's $287,711.55 Measures N and H carryover budget$288K
- K.-54Approves MetWest High School's $127,515.47 Measures N and H carryover budget$128K
- K.-55Approves Rudsdale Continuation and Rudsdale Newcomer's $122,596.75 Measures N and H carryover budget$123K
- K.-56Approves Oakland International High School's $54,030.14 Measures N and H carryover budget$54K
- K.-57Approves $713,029.97 Measures N and H administrative carryover budget from 2022-2023$713K
- K.-58Approves ARISE High School's $7,703.05 Measures N and H carryover budget$8K
- K.-59Approves Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy's $136,532.00 Measures N and H carryover budget$137K
- K.-60Approves Envision Academy of Arts and Technology's $99,709.40 Measures N and H carryover budget$100K
- K.-61Adopts $90,745.34 Measures N and H carryover budget for Lighthouse Community Charter High School$91K
- K.-62Adopts $308,684.68 Measures N and H carryover budget for Leadership Public Schools Oakland R&D$309K
- K.-63Adopts $64,069.66 Measures N and H carryover budget for Oakland Unity High School$64K
- K.-64Adopts $226,471.42 Measures N and H carryover budget for Aspire Golden State College Preparatory Academy$226K
- K.-65Adopts $122,483.30 Measures N and H carryover budget for East Bay Innovation Academy$122K
- K.-66Adopts $73,953.86 Measures N and H carryover budget for Oakland School for the Arts$74K
- K.-67Adopts $105,718.35 Measures N and H carryover budget for Lodestar: A Lighthouse Community Charter Public Schoo$106K
- K.-68Adopts $678,229.88 Measures N and H carryover budget for Skyline High School$678K
- K.-69Adopts $248,698.12 Measures N and H carryover budget for Fremont High School$249K
- K.-70Pays King Construction Inspection up to $72,742.99 to inspect Roosevelt Middle School's modernization$73Knot to exceed
- K.-71Amends ENGEO engineering contract for Laurel Child Development Center and extends it to Dec. 2024+$20Knew total $130K
- K.-72Pays Sandis Civil Engineers up to $49,335 for site surveying at Garfield Elementary modernization$49Knot to exceed
- K.-73Adds $9,848.30 for ACC Environmental soil testing at East Oakland Pride Elementary+$10Knew total $32K
- K.-74Extends Building Block Interiors purchase agreement for Laurel Child Development Center to June 2024No cost stated
- K.-75Adds $78,642 to Shah Kawasaki Architects' contract for the Coliseum College Prep site expansion+$79Knew total $1.20M
- K.-76Extends Building Maps evacuation signage agreement to June 30, 2024 at no added costNo cost stated
- K.-77Adds $126,379 for Ninyo & Moore environmental monitoring at La Escuelita through 2025+$126Knew total $264K
How the Board voted on the consent report
Approved 7–0, 1 absent
A motion was made by Vice President Thompson, seconded by Director Davis, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote:
- Anevay Cruz Absent
- Vida Mendoza P Aye
- Benjamin "Sam" Davis Aye
- Jennifer Brouhard Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Jorge Lerma Aye
- Valarie Bachelor Aye
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Aye
From the official minutes in Legistar, December 14, 2023 meeting.
This is an independent project created to provide transparency to the OUSD Community, and is not affiliated with Oakland Unified District. All data used to create the Consent Report Tracker is made public by Legistar, OUSD's official platform for posting legislative records. Plain-English summaries are written by AI with narrow parameters based upon the official text of the reports. Read about how all this works.