Wednesday, October 8, 2025
General Consent Report, OUSD Board of Education Regular Meeting
Yearly caps are counted separately. 1 items set a limit per year instead of a total, adding up to $12K a year. They aren't in the spending total above. The largest is Trellis Research, Inc. at up to $12K a year. Show yearly caps
Largest items
Not-to-exceed amounts, one scale. Yearly caps excluded.
Spending by category
Categories and sub-categories are assigned by AI from each item's official text, using a fixed set of definitions. They can be wrong. How categories workSelect a category to filter the list.
- O.-1Ratifies $7,987.09 for Sof Surfaces to install play matting tiles at the Early Childhood Development Center$8K
- O.-2Ratifies up to $50,000 for Purple Communications' interpreter software for hearing-impaired staff$50Knot to exceed
- O.-3Ratifies up to $25,000 for Forklift Academy to train district employees in forklift safety$25Knot to exceed
- O.-4Approves up to $10,500 for three active-assailant prevention trainings by Consortium Critical Incident$11Knot to exceed
- O.-5Ratifies up to $30,000 for Blast Off Now Pressure Washing to clean school yards as needed$30Knot to exceed
- O.-6Ratifies up to $36,450 for Company Nurse to run a 24/7 workers' compensation injury hotline$36Knot to exceed
- O.-7Approves a five-year no-cost agreement for Wright Institute graduate students to do fieldwork in OUSDNo cost stated
- O.-8Approves Personnel Report No. 2526-0003 from the Talent/Human Resources DepartmentCost not stated
- O.-9Approves Resolution No. 2526-0063 for a temporary hiring and position freeze at schools and central officeCost not stated
- O.-10Accepts a $60,000 incentive payment for 20 staff certified through a state disability-services program+$60Kcoming in
- O.-11Adopts the 2025-26 federal addendum to the district's Local Control and Accountability PlanCost not stated
- O.-12Approves a 2025-26 nonpublic school master contract with The Springstone School, up to $500,000$500Knot to exceed
- O.-13Approves a 2025-26 nonpublic school master contract with Cinnamon Hills Youth Crisis Center, up to $500,000$500Knot to exceed
- O.-14Approves a 2025-26 nonpublic school master contract with Youth Care of Utah, up to $500,000$500Knot to exceed
- O.-15Ratifies up to $87,665 for Thriving Students Collective's educator training and parent video subscriptions$88Knot to exceed
- O.-16Approves up to $65,000 for HERO to run organized recess games at Allendale Elementary$65Knot to exceed
- O.-17Ratifies up to $60,000 for Yemeni student group's literacy mentors at five Oakland schools$60Knot to exceed
- O.-18Ratifies a no-cost agreement for Asian Health Services to give dental checks at Franklin ElementaryNo cost stated
- O.-19Approves up to $15,000 for YouthBeat to support and teach the media pathway at Westlake Middle$15Knot to exceed
- O.-20Approves up to $67,500 for Servio Consulting to improve the OUSDForce Salesforce database$68Knot to exceed
- O.-21Ratifies a no-cost agreement for First Tee Oakland to offer an eight-week golf program at 20 schoolsNo cost stated
- O.-22Ratifies a no-cost agreement for My Other Brother to support African American students at CastlemontNo cost stated
- O.-23Ratifies up to $85,000 for Change The Tune to train summer and expanded-learning educators$85Knot to exceed
- O.-24Ratifies up to $5,000 for Lincoln's HOPE mental health support at La Escuelita Elementary$5Knot to exceed
- O.-25Approves up to $65,900 for Bay Area Community Resources to support at-risk students at Rudsdale$66Knot to exceed
- O.-26Ratifies up to $16,000 for Oakland Interfaith Gospel Choir to teach a choir elective at Bret Harte$16Knot to exceed
- O.-27Ratifies up to $10,440 for a consultant to train educators to lead antiracist affinity spaces$10Knot to exceed
- O.-28Approves up to $90,000 for Bay Area Community Resources' Young Hawks program for newcomer students$90Knot to exceed
- O.-29Ratifies up to $50,000 for EL Education to train teachers on its language arts curriculum$50Knot to exceed
- O.-30Ratifies a no-cost agreement for Lincoln to provide a behavioral-support clinician at Garfield ElementaryNo cost stated
- O.-31Pays Edmentum up to $86,102.50 for online credit-recovery courses and teacher training$86Knot to exceed
- O.-32Pays Lincoln up to $6,000 for social-emotional support for students at Fruitvale Elementary$6Knot to exceed
- O.-33Pays WestEd up to $49,000 to train new pre-K and transitional kindergarten teachers$49Knot to exceed
- O.-34Pays Arizona State University up to $70,000 to coach the Linked Learning Office team$70Knot to exceed
- O.-35Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $96,500 for college and career activities at Rudsdale$97Knot to exceed
- O.-36Accepts $373,650 from the National Science Foundation, via WestEd, for a computer science language project+$374Kcoming in
- O.-37Pays High-Performance Academy up to $200,000 for Saturday and after-school sports for students$200Knot to exceed
- O.-38Accepts a Save the Music Foundation grant of instruments and equipment for Fremont High's media artsNo cost stated
- O.-39Pays a contractor up to $14,850 for after-school STEAM classes at Glenview Elementary$15Knot to exceed
- O.-40Pays DB Luv LLC up to $80,000 to expand sports opportunities for students with disabilities$80Knot to exceed
- O.-41Pays a youth sports project manager up to $65,000 for Oakland Athletic League activities$65Knot to exceed
- O.-42Pays Mentoring Medicine & Science up to $36,000 for first-aid training and EMTs at athletic events$36Knot to exceed
- O.-43Pays Refugee & Immigrant Transitions up to $60,000 for classes, tutoring and interpreting for families$60Knot to exceed
- O.-44Ends the district's 2022-23 services agreement with Fred Finch Youth and Family ServicesNo cost stated
- O.-45Pays Trellis Research up to $12,000 per year for legal research software for the Legal Department$12K/yryearly cap
- O.-46Updates the board policy and regulation on identifying and educating students under Section 504No cost stated
- O.-47Moves $4,536.12 within the Young Adult Program's Measures N and H budget to a teacher positionNo cost stated
- O.-48Shifts $10,000 in Madison Park Academy's Measures N and H plan from teacher stipends to bus servicesNo cost stated
- O.-49Sets the Career Technical Education Advisory Committee at 13 members and names themNo cost stated
- P.-1Adds $17,545 to Terraphase's traffic study for the Garfield Elementary modernization project+$18Knew total $99K
- P.-2Pays Moka Engineering $5,888 to move a shed at Stonehurst Elementary for the solar project$6K
How the Board voted on the consent reports
General Consent Report: Approved 6–0, 1 abstaining, 2 absent
A motion was made by Vice President Bachelor, seconded by Director Berry, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Maximus Simmons Absent
- Marianna Smith Absent
- Rachel Latta Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Abstained
- Patrice Berry Aye
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Valarie Bachelor Aye
- Jennifer Brouhard Aye
General Consent Report: Approved 6–0, 1 abstaining, 2 absent
A motion was made by Vice President Bachelor, seconded by Director Berry, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Maximus Simmons Absent
- Marianna Smith Absent
- Rachel Latta Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Abstained
- Patrice Berry Aye
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Valarie Bachelor Aye
- Jennifer Brouhard Aye
From the official minutes in Legistar, October 8, 2025 meeting.
This is an independent project created to provide transparency to the OUSD Community, and is not affiliated with Oakland Unified District. All data used to create the Consent Report Tracker is made public by Legistar, OUSD's official platform for posting legislative records. Plain-English summaries are written by AI with narrow parameters based upon the official text of the reports. Read about how all this works.