Wednesday, October 22, 2025
General Consent Report, OUSD Board of Education Regular Meeting
Yearly caps are counted separately. 1 items set a limit per year instead of a total, adding up to $190K a year. They aren't in the spending total above. The largest is Softchoice, Inc. at up to $190K a year. Show yearly caps
Largest items
Not-to-exceed amounts, one scale. Yearly caps excluded.
Spending by category
Categories and sub-categories are assigned by AI from each item's official text, using a fixed set of definitions. They can be wrong. How categories workSelect a category to filter the list.
- O.-1Renews district-wide Microsoft licenses through Softchoice for up to $190,447.29 a year$190K/yryearly cap
- O.-2Adds $371,405 in design work for the Calvin Simmons Middle School turf field with Verde Design+$371Knew total $1.03M
- O.-3Pays D-Line Constructors up to $59,960 to seal coat Montera Middle School's lower yard$60Knot to exceed
- O.-4Pays CALINC Training up to $30,000 for state-required storm-water pollution inspections$30Knot to exceed
- O.-5Extends Teach for America's teacher recruiting and coaching agreement to 2029 at no added costNo cost stated
- O.-6Pays Ocelotl up to $40,000 to pilot a student peer-leader apprenticeship program$40Knot to exceed
- O.-7Approves a no-cost teacher-intern and fieldwork partnership with Pepperdine University through 2030No cost stated
- O.-8Approves a no-cost intern and fieldwork partnership with University of San Francisco through 2030No cost stated
- O.-9Approves a no-cost intern and fieldwork partnership with Pacific Oaks College through 2030No cost stated
- O.-10Approves a no-cost fieldwork partnership with Samuel Merritt University through 2030No cost stated
- O.-11Approves Personnel Report No. 2526-0004 from the Talent/Human Resources DepartmentCost not stated
- O.-12Pays UCSF up to $75,000 for training and case consultation for district school nurses$75Knot to exceed
- O.-13Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $140,800 for stipends to graduate student school counselors$141Knot to exceed
- O.-14Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $93,000 to place three climate-focused service fellows$93Knot to exceed
- O.-15Accepts free family cooking classes from 18 Reasons at the Central KitchenNo cost stated
- O.-16Pays American Association of Yemeni Students and Professionals up to $64,800 for literacy tutoring$65Knot to exceed
- O.-17Pays Black Cultural Zone up to $36,364 for after-school podcasting classes at two schools$36Knot to exceed
- O.-18Pays Black Cultural Zone up to $32,245 for after-school hip-hop visual arts classes$32Knot to exceed
- O.-19Pays Black Cultural Zone up to $28,450 for 26 music workshops for TK and kindergarten students$28Knot to exceed
- O.-20Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $15,000 for student health council stipends$15Knot to exceed
- O.-21Accepts a free climate justice youth leadership program from Frontline CatalystsNo cost stated
- O.-22Pays Spanish Speaking Unity Council up to $209,000 for Latino student mentoring and academic support$209Knot to exceed
- O.-23Pays Destiny Arts Center up to $5,000 for Haitian dance and drumming at Prescott Elementary$5Knot to exceed
- O.-24Pays Children Rising up to $5,000 for literacy tutoring at Prescott Elementary$5Knot to exceed
- O.-25Pays EL Education up to $43,400 for staff coaching at Melrose Leadership Academy$43Knot to exceed
- O.-26Accepts free weekly music classes from Cantare Con Vivo at Cleveland ElementaryNo cost stated
- O.-27Accepts free school-based mental health services from Fred Finch at Garfield ElementaryNo cost stated
- O.-28Pays Hope Reimagined up to $25,000 for clinical supervision and staff training at Hillcrest$25Knot to exceed
- O.-29Pays Destiny Arts Center up to $5,000 for dance and martial arts at Manzanita Community Elementary$5Knot to exceed
- O.-30Pays Heart in Balance up to $3,000 for student therapy sessions at Peralta Elementary$3Knot to exceed
- O.-31Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $25,000 for attendance support at MLK/Lafayette Elementary$25Knot to exceed
- O.-32Pays Ball for Life Oakland up to $50,000 for a sports and health class at La Escuelita Elementary$50Knot to exceed
- O.-33Approves after the fact up to $1,600 to Califitness for gym equipment repair at Dewey Academy$2Knot to exceed
- O.-34Approves after the fact up to $8,000 for Growing Together-Bay Area garden lessons at Bunche Academy$8Knot to exceed
- O.-35Approves after the fact up to $32,000 for weekly food bank distribution at Rudsdale High$32Knot to exceed
- O.-36Pays Imagine Learning up to $48,250 for online reading and math intervention at high schools$48Knot to exceed
- O.-37Accepts a $10,000 state grant for a legal practices career academy at Oakland Technical High+$10Kcoming in
- O.-38Accepts a $520,864 state career technical education grant for high school students+$521Kcoming in
- O.-39Approves after the fact a no-cost Common Vision agreement for gardening and field trips at Prescott ElementaryNo cost stated
- O.-40Approves after the fact up to $10,000 for Junior Center art and coding classes at Franklin Elementary$10Knot to exceed
- O.-41Pays Elevate Oakland up to $12,000 to grow the instrumental music program at Elmhurst United Middle$12Knot to exceed
- O.-42Approves after the fact up to $41,600 for Chapter 510 Ink writing and publishing at Westlake Middle$42Knot to exceed
- O.-43Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $13,500 for recess mentoring at Franklin Elementary$14Knot to exceed
- O.-44Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $5,000 for after-school reading help at Franklin Elementary$5Knot to exceed
- O.-45Approves after the fact up to $35,000 for an after-school cooking program at Oakland International High$35Knot to exceed
- O.-46Approves after the fact up to $8,000 for Oakland Serves in-school mentoring for at-risk high schoolers$8Knot to exceed
- O.-47Approves after the fact up to $20,064.45 for Think Communication Therapy language development help$20Knot to exceed
- O.-48Approves after the fact up to $5,000 for an artist to paint a student-designed mural at Laurel Elementary$5Knot to exceed
- O.-49Pays Hope Reimagined up to $104,000 for clinical supervision and staff training at International Community$104Knot to exceed
- O.-50Approves after the fact up to $10,000 to update student address and map data in the Geoqueue system$10Knot to exceed
- O.-51Approves after the fact up to $9,000 for Kingmakers of Oakland classes at West Oakland Middle$9Knot to exceed
- O.-52Approves after the fact up to $18,325 for Lessoncast teacher training on Universal Design for Learning$18Knot to exceed
- O.-53Approves after the fact up to $30,564 for Cantare Con Vivo music instruction at Lincoln Elementary$31Knot to exceed
- O.-54Approves after the fact up to $1,000 for The Teaching Well educator wellness project at Garfield Elementary$1Knot to exceed
- O.-55Approves after the fact up to $45,700 for the Epicenter charter oversight software platform$46Knot to exceed
- O.-56Adopts an amendment to Board Policy 0410 on nondiscrimination in district programs and activitiesNo cost stated
- O.-57Adopts an amendment to Board Policy 1330 on use of school district facilitiesNo cost stated
- O.-58Denies Yu Ming Charter School's Proposition 2 facilities application for the Tilden siteNo cost stated
- O.-59Denies East Bay Innovation Academy's Proposition 2 facilities application for 3400 Malcolm AvenueNo cost stated
- O.-60Approves an amended $209,100 Measures N and H improvement plan for Life Academy$209Knot to exceed
- O.-61Approves Oakland School for the Arts' amended 2025-26 plan, up to $322,703.91 in Measures N and H funds$323Knot to exceed
- O.-62Approves Measure G1 carryover allocations for named schools and teacher salaries from the 2024-25 school yearCost not stated
- O1.-1Pays Soccer Without Borders up to $277,000 for newcomer student soccer, tutoring and mentoring$277Knot to exceed
- P.-1Pays Atlas Technical Consultants up to $6,842.50 for geotechnical work at Fremont High modernization$7Knot to exceed
- P.-2Pays DecoTech Systems up to $44,925.51 to install fiber optic network cabling at two schools$45Knot to exceed
How the Board voted on the consent reports
General Consent Report: Approved 6–0, 1 abstaining, 2 absent
A motion was made by Director Thompson, seconded by Director Latta, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Maximus Simmons Absent
- Marianna Smith Absent
- Rachel Latta Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Abstained
- Patrice Berry Aye
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Valarie Bachelor Aye
- Jennifer Brouhard Aye
General Consent Report No. 2: Approved 5–0, 1 recused, 3 absent
A motion was made by Director Thompson, seconded by Director Williams, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Maximus Simmons Absent
- Marianna Smith Absent
- Rachel Latta Recused
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Absent
- Patrice Berry Aye
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Valarie Bachelor Aye
- Jennifer Brouhard Aye
General Consent Report: Approved 6–0, 3 absent
A motion was made by Director Thompson, seconded by Director Latta, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Maximus Simmons Absent
- Marianna Smith Absent
- Rachel Latta Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Absent
- Patrice Berry Aye
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Valarie Bachelor Aye
- Jennifer Brouhard Aye
From the official minutes in Legistar, October 22, 2025 meeting.
This is an independent project created to provide transparency to the OUSD Community, and is not affiliated with Oakland Unified District. All data used to create the Consent Report Tracker is made public by Legistar, OUSD's official platform for posting legislative records. Plain-English summaries are written by AI with narrow parameters based upon the official text of the reports. Read about how all this works.