Wednesday, March 12, 2025
General Consent Report, OUSD Board of Education Regular Meeting
Yearly caps are counted separately. 1 items set a limit per year instead of a total, adding up to $2.67M a year. They aren't in the spending total above. The largest is T-Mobile USA, Inc. at up to $2.67M a year. Show yearly caps
Largest items
Not-to-exceed amounts, one scale. Yearly caps excluded.
Spending by category
Categories and sub-categories are assigned by AI from each item's official text, using a fixed set of definitions. They can be wrong. How categories workSelect a category to filter the list.
- L.-1Awards Star Elevator up to $824,380 for wheelchair lift repairs and maintenance at various sites$824Knot to exceed
- L.-2Pays ER Plumbing up to $127,665 to replace lead pipes and fix the kitchen at Allendale Elementary$128Knot to exceed
- L.-3Awards Redgwick Construction $1,347,100 to rebuild play areas and garden at Madison Primary School$1.35M
- L.-4Leases a Sonic fiber-optic link for up to $6,000 through 2030, if E-Rate funding is awarded$6Knot to exceed
- L.-5Adds $163,200 and two years to Sonic's internet services contract, raising it to $408,000+$163Knew total $408K
- L.-6Adds $2,993,148 and extends Sonic's district-wide network contract through June 2027+$2.99Mnot to exceed
- L.-7Buys T-Mobile phone lines and hotspots through a state purchasing contract, up to $2,671,704 a year$2.67M/yryearly cap
- L.-8Pays Hope Reimagined up to $12,000 for clinical supervision and staff training at Hillcrest Elementary$12Knot to exceed
- L.-9Ratifies up to $114,000 for Brigaid to develop recipes and support scratch cooking in Nutrition Services$114Knot to exceed
- L.-10Ratifies up to $15,000 for a consultant to prepare Nutrition Services for its spring administrative review$15Knot to exceed
- L.-11Declares district vehicles surplus and authorizes their disposal (Resolution 2425-0134)No cost stated
- L.-12Sets up a teacher-intern partnership with Academy of Art University through 2030 at no costNo cost stated
- L.-13Sets up a fieldwork partnership with the University of St. Augustine through 2029 at no costNo cost stated
- L.-14Accepts up to $508,305 from the state food and agriculture department for school food and garden programs+$508Kcoming in
- L.-15Ratifies up to $20,000 for Curacubby's Attendly software for Saturday YES Sports events$20Knot to exceed
- L.-16Pays HTF Staffing up to $114,500 for special education teachers to cover leaves and vacancies$115Knot to exceed
- L.-17Ratifies a no-cost UC Master Gardener partnership to support school gardens through June 2027No cost stated
- L.-18Ratifies up to $45,000 for KH Design to engage students and community in making three school murals$45Knot to exceed
- L.-19Ratifies up to $32,000 for arts-based youth development support for the Arts Enrichment Initiative$32Knot to exceed
- L.-20Pays Servio Consulting up to $65,625 to move after-school planning and budgeting into Salesforce$66Knot to exceed
- L.-21Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $5,000 for leadership coaching for Allendale Elementary's principal$5Knot to exceed
- L.-22Ratifies up to $11,050 for Kendall Hunt's two-day math curriculum training$11Knot to exceed
- L.-23Ratifies up to $15,000 for coaching and planning support for high school math teachers$15Knot to exceed
- L.-24Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $8,538.75 for lunchtime supervision at Hillcrest Elementary$9Knot to exceed
- L.-25Ratifies up to $5,000 for Lend A Hand Foundation to supply the McKinney-Vento Program$5Knot to exceed
- L.-26Pays Elevate Oakland up to $1,000 for a disability-awareness puppet show at Montclair Elementary$1Knot to exceed
- L.-27Ratifies up to $10,500 for help aligning charter high school pathways to Linked Learning standards$11Knot to exceed
- L.-28Ratifies a free Oakland Symphony instrument-lesson program at United for Success AcademyNo cost stated
- L.-29Adds $6,000 to an English-language lessons contract at Elmhurst United, raising it to $12,000+$6Knew total $12K
- L.-30Accepts $7,500 from the Bay Area K-16 Collaborative for career-pathway field trips at Castlemont High+$8Kcoming in
- L.-31Accepts a $7,500 grant from the Bay Area K-16 Collaborative for college field trips at McClymonds High+$8Kcoming in
- L.-32Expands a no-cost data-sharing agreement so Oakland Promise receives student-level economic disadvantage dataNo cost stated
- L.-33Approves the 2025-26 funding application for the district's state-funded child care programFunding inamount not stated
- L.-34Ratifies up to $5,000 for Civic Productions to support Oakland High's Autumn Lights Festival and student art$5Knot to exceed
- L.-35Pays Soccer Without Borders up to $13,860 for learning circles and check-ins for Oakland High newcomers$14Knot to exceed
- L.-36Approves Skyline High trip for three 12th graders and one adult to visit Black colleges in AtlantaCost not stated
- L.-37Approves Fremont High trip for 21 students and four adults to visit Washington, DCCost not stated
- L.-38Approves Castlemont High Pacific Bridge Club trip to Jakarta, Indonesia for 16 students and four adultsNo cost stated
- L.-39Ratifies reappointment of four members to the Measure G parcel tax oversight committeeNo cost stated
- M.-1Pays King Construction Inspection $8,740 for inspection at the Melrose Leadership Academy schoolyard project$9K
- M.-2Adds $8,320 and 90 days for Data Media Services' Claremont Middle School camera server upgrade+$8Knew total $137K
- M.-3Adds $8,800 for Dialog Design structural engineering support at Melrose Leadership Academy$9K
- M.-4Ratifies $10,851 for North American Fence & Railing to replace the Manzanita Child Development Center gate$11K
- M.-5Adds $88,442 to Jensen Hughes' fire alarm consulting contract for two Oakland school projects+$88Knew total $437K
- M.-6Awards Data Sync Communications $85,500 to install security cameras at Hillcrest K-8 School$86K
- M.-7Pays ACC Environmental up to $12,947 for a hazardous material survey at Emerson Elementary$13Knot to exceed
- M.-8Buys up to $433,316 of network equipment and services from CDW-G through another agency's contract$433Knot to exceed
- M.-9Buys up to $3.92M of equipment, licensing and support from CDW-G through another agency's contract$3.92Mnot to exceed
- M.-10Buys up to $2.83M of network equipment and services from CDW-G through another agency's contract$2.83Mnot to exceed
How the Board voted on the consent reports
General Consent Report: Approved 4–0, 1 abstaining, 4 absent
A motion was made by Director Latta, seconded by Director Williams, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote:
- Michele Vasquez Absent
- Maximus Simmons Absent
- Rachel Latta Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Abstained
- Patrice Berry Aye
- Clifford Thompson Absent
- Valarie Bachelor Aye
- Jennifer Brouhard Absent
General Consent Report - General Obligation Bonds - Measures B, J and Y: Approved 4–0, 5 absent
A motion was made by Director Latta, seconded by Director Berry, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote:
- Michele Vasquez Absent
- Maximus Simmons Absent
- Rachel Latta Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Absent
- Patrice Berry Aye
- Clifford Thompson Absent
- Valarie Bachelor Aye
- Jennifer Brouhard Absent
From the official minutes in Legistar, March 12, 2025 meeting.
This is an independent project created to provide transparency to the OUSD Community, and is not affiliated with Oakland Unified District. All data used to create the Consent Report Tracker is made public by Legistar, OUSD's official platform for posting legislative records. Plain-English summaries are written by AI with narrow parameters based upon the official text of the reports. Read about how all this works.