Wednesday, June 29, 2022
General Consent Report, OUSD Board of Education Special Meeting
Not counted in the totals above. $706K in grants applied for (2 items)
Largest items
Not-to-exceed amounts, one scale. Yearly caps excluded.
Spending by category
Categories and sub-categories are assigned by AI from each item's official text, using a fixed set of definitions. They can be wrong. How categories workSelect a category to filter the list.
- V.-1Adds $1,009,374.96 and extends Aeries student information system license to June 2025+$1.01Mnew total $1.31M
- V.-2Buys Illuminate Education's DnA assessment platform for up to $293,557.80 through June 2025$294Knot to exceed
- V.-3Adds $133,494.15 and extends Infinity Communications' connectivity-fund consulting to Dec 2023+$133Knew total $223K
- V.-4Approves GovDeals online auctions of surplus district property at no cost to the districtSales capnot a cost
- V.-5Buys school supplies, athletic gear and furniture from School Specialty for up to $1M$1Mnot to exceed
- V.-6Adds $10,239 for Valley Relocation to move payroll, risk and superintendent offices+$10Knew total $60K
- V.-7Hires Consolidated Engineering Laboratories for up to $16,115 of Kaiser Elementary site studies$16Knot to exceed
- V.-8Awards Bay Construction $734,000 to repaint Castlemont High School's exterior$734K
- V.-9Adds $72,000 and extends Bay Alarm's burglar alarm monitoring contract to June 2023+$72Knew total $144K
- V.-10Awards Julian Tree Care $62,000 for fire-safety weed abatement at seven school sites$62K
- V.-11Awards Julian Tree Care $82,000 for fire-safety weed abatement at eight school sites$82K
- V.-12Adds $198,000 and extends Bay Alarm's overnight patrol and alarm response to June 2023+$198Knew total $378K
- V.-13Approves Personnel Report No. 2122-0011 from the Talent/Human Resources DepartmentNo cost stated
- V.-14Partners with Saint Mary's College on teacher and counselor internships at no costNo cost stated
- V.-15Revises the job description for the Program Manager, Health Access positionNo cost stated
- V.-16Revises paperwork for $150,001 WestEd computer science subcontract from National Science Foundation+$150Kcoming in
- V.-17Applies for $450,000 from Oakland Fund for Children and Youth for peer restorative justice+$450Kcoming in
- V.-18Pays Institute for Racial Equity and Excellence up to $30,554 for PreK and TK teacher trainings$31Knot to exceed
- V.-19Hires AB Staffing for up to $1.5M of sign language interpreters, nurses and psychologists$1.50Mnot to exceed
- V.-20Pays a school psychology intern up to $25,000 for the 2022-23 school year$25Knot to exceed
- V.-21Hires Bay Area Community Resources to run after-school programs for up to $30.9M through July 2025$30.9Mnot to exceed
- V.-22Hires East Bay Agency for Children to run after-school programs for up to $3.77M through July 2025$3.77Mnot to exceed
- V.-23Hires East Bay Asian Youth Center to run after-school programs for up to $14.4M through July 2025$14.4Mnot to exceed
- V.-24Hires Envisioneers, Inc. to run after-school programs for up to $3.85M through July 2025$3.85Mnot to exceed
- V.-25Hires Girls Inc. of Alameda County to run after-school programs for up to $10.2M through July 2025$10.2Mnot to exceed
- V.-26Hires Higher Ground to run after-school programs for up to $1.06M through July 2025$1.06Mnot to exceed
- V.-27Hires Love, Learn, Success to run after-school programs for up to $1.11M through July 2025$1.11Mnot to exceed
- V.-28Hires Oakland Kids First to run after-school programs for up to $1.36M through July 2025$1.36Mnot to exceed
- V.-29Hires Oakland Leaf Foundation to run after-school programs for up to $5.66M through July 2025$5.66Mnot to exceed
- V.-30Hires Safe Passages to run after-school programs for up to $6.94M through July 2025$6.94Mnot to exceed
- V.-31Pays SPAAT up to $1.44M to run after-school at one school through 2025$1.44Mnot to exceed
- V.-32Pays Ujimaa Foundation up to $1.06M to run after-school at one school through 2025$1.06Mnot to exceed
- V.-33Pays YMCA of the East Bay up to $2.12M to run after-school at two schools through 2025$2.12Mnot to exceed
- V.-34Pays Youth Together up to $1.44M to run after-school at one school through 2025$1.44Mnot to exceed
- V.-35Pays Jewish Community Center up to $600,000 to run after-school at one school through 2025$600Knot to exceed
- V.-36Pays Mills College up to $92,000 to coach Expanded Learning Office leaders in 2022-23$92Knot to exceed
- V.-37Amends college-courses partnership with Peralta colleges to allow online classes through June 2023No cost stated
- V.-38Seeks $255,600 from Oakland's youth fund for Oakland International High School's wellness center+$256Kcoming in
- V.-39Approves $5,592 for 2 students and 3 adults to attend a restorative justice conference in Chicago$6Knot to exceed
- V.-40Pays UCSF up to $75,000 for a pediatrician to advise OUSD school nurses in 2022-23$75Knot to exceed
- V.-41Ratifies $20,000 for Orff-Schulwerk association to train music and dance teachers$20Knot to exceed
- V.-42Ratifies $5,778 for Oakland Public Education Fund to pay five social work interns$6Knot to exceed
- V.-43Ratifies $18,000 more and added time for Mind Growers' Adaptive Schools seminar, to $54,000+$18Knew total $54K
- V.-44Ratifies $10,000 for I-SEEED to pay student stipends for violence prevention training$10Knot to exceed
- V.-45Pays Oakland Public Education Fund $3,300 for family outreach at Crocker Highlands Elementary$3K
- V.-46Leases part of Burbank Preschool and Diagnostic Center to YMCA for $51,192 a year through 2025+$51Kcoming in
- V.-47Ratifies $99,100 for Care Solace to connect families and students with mental health providers$99Knot to exceed
- V.-48Adds $117,663 to Office Depot test-kit contract to cover tax missed on COVID-19 tests+$118Knew total $1.28M
- V.-49Adds $105,720 to Office Depot test-kit contract to cover tax missed on COVID-19 tests+$106Knew total $1.14M
- V.-50Allows Board and district committees to meet virtually in August 2022No cost stated
- V.-51Ratifies $23,624 for Thomson Reuters' Westlaw legal research subscription through June 2025$24Knot to exceed
- V.-52Approves two-year contract with AFSCME Local 257 workers' union, July 2022 to June 2024No cost stated
- V.-53Agrees with three unions on extra pay for health-related lead work in 2021-22 and 2022-23Cost not stated
- V.-54Extends Kidango's lease at Castlemont High to June 2023, adding $18,000 in rent to the district+$18Kcoming in
- V.-55Proclaims September 2022 as LGBTQ Pride MonthNo cost stated
- V.-56Appoints a member to North Oakland Community Charter School's governing board through June 2024No cost stated
- V.-57Ratifies two appointments to the bond oversight committee for school facilities measures B, J and YNo cost stated
- V.-58Adopts Measure G1 Commission's recommendation on the 2022-23 middle schools grant and spending planCost not stated
- V1.-1Pays Consolidated Engineering Laboratories up to $31,295 for Garfield Elementary renovation testing$31Knot to exceed
- V1.-2Awards G & G Builders $59,813 for new play surfacing at Burckhalter Elementary$60K
- V1.-3Buys up to $56,437.05 of play surface tiles from Sof Surfaces for Burckhalter Elementary$56Knot to exceed
- V1.-4Awards $8.37M to CWS Construction to replace Castlemont High's athletic field, track and bleachers$8.37M
- V1.-5Pays Syska Hennessy $6,500 to assess and spec the existing elevator at Fremont High$7K
- V1.-6Adds $79,370 for Ninyo & Moore soil gas monitoring at La Escuelita through 2023+$79Knew total $138K
- V1.-7Awards $640,660 to Viatron Systems to digitize district documents at 1000 Broadway$641K
- V1.-8Adds $2.45M to keep Cumming Management Group's construction management through 2026+$2.45Mnew total $3.35M
- V1.-9Adds $1.67M to keep Sixth Dimension's construction management through 2026+$1.67Mnew total $2.57M
- V1.-10Adds $1.23M to keep Kitchell's construction management through 2026+$1.23Mnew total $2.13M
- V1.-11Adds $9,418 and time for N.V. Heathorn to fix kitchen floor drain trap primers at The Center at Foster+$9Knew total $43K
- V1.-12Extends LCA Architects' Fremont High agreement to Dec. 2022 at no added costNo cost stated
- V1.-13Adds $75,946.78 for Native Soil irrigation and landscaping at The Center, skipping public bidding+$76Knew total $131K
How the Board voted on the consent reports
General Consent Report: Approved 4–0, 2 abstaining, 2 absent
A motion was made by Director Thompson, seconded by Vice President Davis, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Samantha Pal Absent
- Natalie Gallegos Chavez Absent
- Aimee Eng Aye
- VanCedric Williams Abstained
- Mike Hutchinson Abstained
- (Vacancy) (Vacancy) Non-voting
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Benjamin "Sam" Davis Aye
- Gary Yee Aye
General Consent Report - General Obligation Bonds (GOB) - Measures B, J and Y: Approved 5–0, 1 abstaining, 2 absent
A motion was made by Director Thompson, seconded by President Yee, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Samantha Pal Absent
- Natalie Gallegos Chavez Absent
- Aimee Eng Aye
- VanCedric Williams Abstained
- Mike Hutchinson Aye
- (Vacancy) (Vacancy) Non-voting
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Benjamin "Sam" Davis Aye
- Gary Yee Aye
From the official minutes in Legistar, June 29, 2022 meeting.
This is an independent project created to provide transparency to the OUSD Community, and is not affiliated with Oakland Unified District. All data used to create the Consent Report Tracker is made public by Legistar, OUSD's official platform for posting legislative records. Plain-English summaries are written by AI with narrow parameters based upon the official text of the reports. Read about how all this works.