Wednesday, June 24, 2020
General Consent Report, OUSD Board of Education Regular Meeting
Yearly caps are counted separately. 1 items set a limit per year instead of a total, adding up to $3.25M a year. They aren't in the spending total above. The largest is Waste Management of Alameda County, Inc. at up to $3.25M a year. Show yearly caps
Not counted in the totals above. $14.4M in budget allocations (2 items) · $2.31M in grants applied for (2 items)
Largest items
Not-to-exceed amounts, one scale. Yearly caps excluded.
Spending by category
Categories and sub-categories are assigned by AI from each item's official text, using a fixed set of definitions. They can be wrong. How categories workSelect a category to filter the list.
- P.-1Pays 2020-21 insurance premiums: $605,000 for workers' comp coverage, $2,995,719 for property and liability$3M
- P.-2Pays catastrophic student accident insurance premiums: $9,915.76 for athletics, $43,125.60 for all students$43K
- P.-3Pays up to $76,613 for 2020-21 blanket student accident insurance through Myers-Stevens & Toohey$77Knot to exceed
- P.-4Approves a student data privacy agreement with TalkingPoints, Inc. at no stated costNo cost stated
- P.-5Licenses school rooftops to Common Networks for wireless internet; district expects $80,000 to $110,000 a year+$110Kcoming in
- P.-6Approves the district joining Pleasanton Unified's student data privacy agreement with ZoomNo cost stated
- P.-7Adopts ten resolutions updating who may sign for district financial accountsNo cost stated
- P.-8Asks the state to allow attendance credit for school days lost to the 2019-20 closure emergencyNo cost stated
- P.-9Buys computer supplies from CDW-Government through another county's bid, skipping the district's own bidCost not stated
- P.-10Pays SchoolMint up to $198,500 for school enrollment application, lottery and registration software in 2020-21$199Knot to exceed
- P.-11Extends Rose Foundation's Coliseum College Prep campus greening donation agreement to May 2022No cost stated
- P.-12Awards Bay Construction $350,000 to replace Oakland Tech grandstand planking and handrails$350K
- P.-13Awards Bay Construction $279,000 to replace Skyline High grandstand planking and handrails$279K
- P.-14Adds $33,000 to keep FM3 Research's bond survey and public opinion work through June 2021+$33Knew total $66K
- P.-15Hires Waste Management for trash, recycling and compost service, up to $3,250,000 a year$3.25M/yryearly cap
- P.-16Approves Personnel Report No. 1920-0011 from the Talent/Human Resources DepartmentCost not stated
- P.-17Ratifies a $46,200 contract for a consultant supporting new-teacher mentoring and induction accreditation$46Knot to exceed
- P.-18Approves new or revised job descriptions for more than 20 district positionsNo cost stated
- P.-19Amends the 2020-21 classified staff layoffs, reinstatements and new positions resolutionNo cost stated
- P.-20Pays Orion Academy up to $80,000 for nonpublic school services for special education students in 2020-21$80Knot to exceed
- P.-21Pays AVID Center up to $13,145 in 2019-20 membership fees for five schools' college-readiness programs$13Knot to exceed
- P.-22Pays East Bay Consortium up to $27,500 for a college and career center at Castlemont High$28Knot to exceed
- P.-23Adjusts East Bay Asian Youth Center's Frick Impact Academy after-school deal for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-24Adjusts Higher Ground's New Highland Academy after-school deal for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-25Adjusts YMCA of the East Bay's West Oakland Middle School after-school deal for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-26Pays Springboard Collaborative up to $369,750 for virtual summer and after-school reading programs$370Knot to exceed
- P.-27Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $95,488 for Ralph J. Bunche Academy's after-school program$95Knot to exceed
- P.-28Pays Safe Passages up to $223,659 for Coliseum College Preparatory Academy's after-school program$224Knot to exceed
- P.-29Pays Safe Passages up to $158,920 for Coliseum College Preparatory Academy's after-school program$159Knot to exceed
- P.-30Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $111,269 for Community United Elementary School's after-school program$111Knot to exceed
- P.-31Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $185,442 for after-school care at Elmhurst United Middle School$185Knot to exceed
- P.-32Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $111,269 to run the after-school program at Emerson Elementary School$111Knot to exceed
- P.-33Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $103,853 for after-school care at Esperanza Elementary School$104Knot to exceed
- P.-34Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $177,840 to run the after-school program at Fremont High School$178Knot to exceed
- P.-35Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $120,792 to run the after-school program at Futures Elementary School$121Knot to exceed
- P.-36Hosts up to 10 high school students in virtual summer internships with EBMUD at no costNo cost stated
- P.-37Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $106,289 to run the after-school program at Glenview Elementary School$106Knot to exceed
- P.-38Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $120,792 for after-school care at Global Family Elementary School$121Knot to exceed
- P.-39Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $111,269 for after-school care at Grass Valley Elementary School$111Knot to exceed
- P.-40Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $104,072 for after-school care at Greenleaf Elementary School$104Knot to exceed
- P.-41Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $152,008 to run the after-school program at Hoover Elementary School$152Knot to exceed
- P.-42Ratifies a no-cost deal with Leading Educators to plan a 3-year English curriculum strategyNo cost stated
- P.-43Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $104,997 for after-school care at Fred T. Korematsu Discovery Academy$105Knot to exceed
- P.-44Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $215,643 to run the after-school program at Life Academy$216Knot to exceed
- P.-45Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $111,269 for after-school care at Bella Vista Elementary School$111Knot to exceed
- P.-46Accepts $100,000 from the City of Oakland to run violence prevention and justice-involved youth support+$100Kcoming in
- P.-47Applies for a $1.996M state grant for student support, attendance and restorative justice+$2Mcoming in
- P.-48Pays Oakland Leaf Foundation up to $180,734 to run the after-school program at Bret Harte Middle School$181Knot to exceed
- P.-49Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $111,269 to run the after-school program at Cleveland Elementary School$111Knot to exceed
- P.-50Pays Youth Together up to $213,361 to run the after-school program at Skyline High School$213Knot to exceed
- P.-51Pays East Bay Agency for Children up to $117,232 to run the after-school program at Rise Community School$117Knot to exceed
- P.-52Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $146,897 to run the after-school program at Edna Brewer Middle School$147Knot to exceed
- P.-53Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $157,937 to run the after-school program at Franklin Elementary School$158Knot to exceed
- P.-54Ratifies a $10,000 increase, to $20,000, for a contractor serving two Oakland high schools+$10Knew total $20K
- P.-55Pays Safe Passages up to $111,269 to run the after-school program at Laurel Elementary School$111Knot to exceed
- P.-56Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $191,784 to run the after-school program at Oakland High School$192Knot to exceed
- P.-57Pays East Bay Agency for Children up to $114,382 to run the after-school program at Peralta Elementary School$114Knot to exceed
- P.-58Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $166,863 for after-school care at Oakland International High School$167Knot to exceed
- P.-59Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $110,282 to run the after-school program at Prescott Elementary School$110Knot to exceed
- P.-60Pays Oakland Leaf Foundation up to $104,998 to run the after-school program at EnCompass Academy$105Knot to exceed
- P.-61Pays Citizen Schools up to $106,169 for an after-school program$106Knot to exceed
- P.-62Pays Love, Learn, Success up to $108,121 for an after-school program$108Knot to exceed
- P.-63Pays East Bay Agency for Children up to $111,892 for an after-school program$112Knot to exceed
- P.-64Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $190,680 for an after-school program$191Knot to exceed
- P.-65Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $111,269 for an after-school program$111Knot to exceed
- P.-66Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $192,343 for an after-school program$192Knot to exceed
- P.-67Pays Oakland Leaf Foundation up to $104,997 for an after-school program$105Knot to exceed
- P.-68Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $125,985 for an after-school program$126Knot to exceed
- P.-69Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $207,795 for an after-school program$208Knot to exceed
- P.-70Pays Ujimaa Foundation up to $99,765 for an after-school program$100Knot to exceed
- P.-71Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $111,269 for an after-school program$111Knot to exceed
- P.-72Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $111,269 for an after-school program$111Knot to exceed
- P.-73Pays Higher Ground Neighborhood Development Corporation up to $111,269 for an after-school program$111Knot to exceed
- P.-74Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $225,423 for an after-school program$225Knot to exceed
- P.-75Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $135,306 for an after-school program$135Knot to exceed
- P.-76Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $111,269 for an after-school program$111Knot to exceed
- P.-77Ratifies up to $11,700 for Camp Phoenix to run a virtual summer program at Greenleaf Elementary$12Knot to exceed
- P.-78Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $399,538 for an after-school program$400Knot to exceed
- P.-79Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $100,723 for an after-school program$101Knot to exceed
- P.-80Pays YMCA of the East Bay up to $98,725 for an after-school program$99Knot to exceed
- P.-81Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $244,786 for an after-school program$245Knot to exceed
- P.-82Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $103,871 for an after-school program$104Knot to exceed
- P.-83Pays Higher Ground Neighborhood Development Corporation up to $148,400 for an after-school program$148Knot to exceed
- P.-84Pays Ujimaa Foundation up to $47,209 for an after-school program$47Knot to exceed
- P.-85Ratifies up to $47,420 for Truce Media to stream virtual graduations for 14 high schools$47Knot to exceed
- P.-86Pays East Bay Agency for Children up to $111,269 for an after-school program$111Knot to exceed
- P.-87Lets two nonpublic special-education schools serve students virtually at no added costNo cost stated
- P.-88Accepts $1.32M from the state for career technical education pathways in high schools+$1.32Mcoming in
- P.-89Accepts $81,000 from the state for the Oakland High School Public Health and Policy Academy+$81Kcoming in
- P.-90Accepts $81,000 from the state for the Oakland High School Law and Public Service Academy+$81Kcoming in
- P.-91Accepts $81,000 state grant for Oakland International High School's Multimedia Communications Academy+$81Kcoming in
- P.-92Accepts $81,000 state grant for Oakland Technical High School's Fashion Academy+$81Kcoming in
- P.-93Accepts $81,000 state grant for Skyline High School's Computer Science and Technology Academy+$81Kcoming in
- P.-94Accepts $75,600 state grant for Fremont High School's College Preparatory and Architecture Academy+$76Kcoming in
- P.-95Accepts $75,600 state grant for Oakland Technical High School's Computer Communication and Repair Academy+$76Kcoming in
- P.-96Accepts $75,600 state grant for Oakland High School's Environmental Science Academy+$76Kcoming in
- P.-97Accepts $75,600 state grant for Life Academy's Health and Bioscience Academy+$76Kcoming in
- P.-98Accepts $75,600 state grant for Oakland Technical High School's Health and Biotechnology Academy+$76Kcoming in
- P.-99Accepts $75,600 state grant for Skyline High School's Skyline Education Academy+$76Kcoming in
- P.-100Accepts $75,600 state grant for Fremont High School's The Media Academy+$76Kcoming in
- P.-101Accepts $75,600 state grant for Oakland High School's Visual Arts Academy+$76Kcoming in
- P.-102Approves Greenleaf Elementary School's 2019-20 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- P.-103Approves Glenview Elementary School's 2019-20 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- P.-104Approves Joaquin Miller Elementary School's 2019-20 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- P.-105Approves Sequoia Elementary School's 2019-20 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- P.-106Approves Acorn Woodland Elementary School's 2019-20 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- P.-107Approves Kaiser Elementary School's 2019-20 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- P.-108Pays New Leaders up to $90,000 in 2019-20 to build school leaders' skills$90Knot to exceed
- P.-109Adds $75,970 for Oakland Public Education Fund summer student intern stipends+$76Knew total $276K
- P.-110Contracts with Raskob Day School for up to $50,000 in 2020-21 special education services$50Knot to exceed
- P.-111Approves Community Day School's 2019-20 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- P.-112Applies for $318,420 in state Workability 1 funds for job-readiness help for students with disabilities+$318Kcoming in
- P.-113Adopts special education resolution on services for children from birth to age threeNo cost stated
- P.-114Adopts special education resolution reserving federal funds for Oakland students in private schoolsNo cost stated
- P.-115Adopts special education resolution on coordinating transition services with other agenciesNo cost stated
- P.-116Adopts special education resolution on materials for students with visual impairmentsNo cost stated
- P.-117Adopts special education resolution on monitoring students placed in nonpublic schoolsNo cost stated
- P.-118Adopts special education resolution on students with disabilities in state and district testsNo cost stated
- P.-119Adopts special education resolution on governance and support for the local planNo cost stated
- P.-120Adopts special education resolution on using federal funds for students with disabilitiesNo cost stated
- P.-121Adopts a resolution on preventing over-identification of students with disabilities in special educationNo cost stated
- P.-122Accepts a $2,505.97 class action settlement award, up $276.54 from the earlier award+$277coming in
- P.-123Adds $150,000 for more legal services from Lozano Smith, for a $450,000 limit this year+$150Knew total $450K
- P.-124Revises the 2020-21 school calendar to add an Oakland Educator Wellness Day on May 10, 2021No cost stated
- P.-125Approves a $206,645.14 yearly facilities agreement with charter school LPS Oakland R&D at Castlemont+$207Kcoming in
- P.-126Approves a facilities agreement with East Bay Innovation Academy at Marshall for $135,494.32 in revenue+$135Kcoming in
- P.-127Approves a no-cost, ten-year data sharing agreement with the California Policy Lab at UC campusesNo cost stated
- P.-128Approves a Proposition 39 facilities agreement with Francophone charter school for $43,260 a year+$43Kcoming in
- P.-129Approves a facilities agreement with Urban Montessori at Tilden/John Swett for about $146,708 a year+$147Kcoming in
- P.-130Reappoints five members of the Measures A, B and J school facilities bond oversight committeeNo cost stated
- P.-131Adopts the Board of Education's 2020-21 Governance HandbookNo cost stated
- P.-132Directs how the Board casts its ballot in the 2020 CSBA Delegate Assembly runoff electionNo cost stated
- P.-133Names five firms as a pool for asset management and real property services on unneeded district sitesNo cost stated
- P.-134Requests a temporary transfer of up to $30 million from the Alameda County Treasury for 2020-21No cost stated
- P.-135Adopts Measure G1 middle school grants and education spending plans totaling $3,916,012 for 2020-21$3.92Mcumulative
- P.-136Adopts Measure N college and career education plans and budgets totaling $10,484,139 for 2020-21$10.5Mcumulative
- P1.-1Adds $180,000 and a year to Lowe Consulting's facilities labor-agreement contract+$180Knew total $360K
- P1.-2Adds $349,437 and a year to L. Luster & Associates' facilities compliance contract+$349Knew total $699K
- P1.-3Adds $207,480 and a year to Layas Partnership's facilities project management contract+$207Knew total $416K
- P1.-4Adds $187,200 and a year to Well Put Together's facilities project management contract+$187Knew total $490K
- P1.-5Adds $368,500 for more monitoring work by KDI Consultants on the Fremont High School rebuild+$369Knew total $1.37M
- P1.-6Pays Nor-Cal Moving Services up to $27,800 to relocate the Special Education Department at Cole$28K
- P1.-7Adds $35,526 to the Digital Design Communications video surveillance maintenance contract+$36Knew total $904K
- P1.-8Pays Rook Electric up to $75,800 to install cameras at Madison Park Academy$76K
- P1.-9Pays Metro Contract Group up to $623,807 for furniture for the new Fremont High building and gym$624K
- P1.-10Pays MKThink $194,488 for continued support of the district's 2019 Facilities Master Plan$194K
- P2.-1Pays Girls Inc. up to $104,997 to run the after-school program at Acorn Woodland Elementary School$105Knot to exceed
- P2.-2Pays Girls Inc. up to $108,537 to run the after-school program at Allendale Elementary School$109Knot to exceed
- P2.-3Pays Girls Inc. up to $98,725 to run the after-school program at Bridges Academy$99Knot to exceed
- P2.-4Pays Girls Inc. up to $146,897 to run the after-school program at LaEscuelita Elementary School$147Knot to exceed
- P2.-5Pays Girls Inc. of Alameda County up to $111,269 to run Horace Mann Elementary's after-school program$111Knot to exceed
How the Board voted on the consent reports
General Consent Report: Approved 7–0, 2 absent
A motion was made by President London, seconded by President Gonzales, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Denilson Garibo Absent
- Mica Smith-Dahl Absent
- Aimee Eng Aye
- Jumoke HintonHodge Aye
- Gary Yee Aye
- Roseann Torres Aye
- James Harris Aye
- Shanthi Gonzales Aye
- Jody London Aye
General Consent Report P1.: Approved 7–0, 2 absent
A motion was made by President Gonzales, seconded by Director Torres, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Denilson Garibo Absent
- Mica Smith-Dahl Absent
- Aimee Eng Aye
- Jumoke HintonHodge Aye
- Gary Yee Aye
- Roseann Torres Aye
- James Harris Aye
- Shanthi Gonzales Aye
- Jody London Aye
General Consent Report P2: Approved 5–1, 3 absent
A motion was made by President London, seconded by President Gonzales, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Denilson Garibo Absent
- Mica Smith-Dahl Absent
- Aimee Eng Aye
- Jumoke HintonHodge Aye
- Gary Yee Aye
- Roseann Torres Absent
- James Harris Nay
- Shanthi Gonzales Aye
- Jody London Aye
From the official minutes in Legistar, June 24, 2020 meeting.
This is an independent project created to provide transparency to the OUSD Community, and is not affiliated with Oakland Unified District. All data used to create the Consent Report Tracker is made public by Legistar, OUSD's official platform for posting legislative records. Plain-English summaries are written by AI with narrow parameters based upon the official text of the reports. Read about how all this works.