Wednesday, April 9, 2025
General Consent Report, OUSD Board of Education Regular Meeting
Yearly caps are counted separately. 5 items set a limit per year instead of a total, adding up to $800K a year. They aren't in the spending total above. The largest is Hanna, Brophy, Maclean, McAleer & Jensen Law Firm at up to $200K a year. Show yearly caps
Largest items
Not-to-exceed amounts, one scale. Yearly caps excluded.
Spending by category
Categories and sub-categories are assigned by AI from each item's official text, using a fixed set of definitions. They can be wrong. How categories workSelect a category to filter the list.
- L.-1Adds $37,200 to help the Nutrition Services Department prepare for an extensive audit+$37Knew total $124K
- L.-2Approves buying from CDW Government through a Monterey County contract, plus a Zendesk data agreementCost not stated
- L.-3Adds $46,100 for Solutions for You to help Nutrition Services prepare for a state audit+$46Knew total $133K
- L.-4Awards $195,742 to Next Generation of Builders for Melrose Leadership Academy site improvements$196K
- L.-5Pays DecoTech Systems up to $8,160 to install camera software for the data center move$8Knot to exceed
- L.-6Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $3,498 to manage summer intern stipends at Dewey Academy$3Knot to exceed
- L.-7Ratifies up to $80,000 for Alana Ross Events to plan the 2025 Employee Health Fair and awards ceremony$80Knot to exceed
- L.-8Proclaims May 6, 2025 as the district's Day of the TeacherNo cost stated
- L.-9Extends a $632,000 state outdoor equity grant for three middle schools to June 2027+$632Kcoming in
- L.-10Extends a UC Berkeley psychology intern program to 2028 and raises the intern stipend to $30,000Cost not stated
- L.-11Ratifies up to $114,000 for Medical Billing Technologies to track and bill Medi-Cal services$114Knot to exceed
- L.-12Adds $90,591 for counseling intern stipends paid through Oakland Public Education Fund+$91Knew total $166K
- L.-13Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $239,981 for community school staff at Oakland High$240Knot to exceed
- L.-14Pays Destiny Arts Center up to $600 for two workshops at the summer staff training week$600not to exceed
- L.-15Ratifies up to $28,420 for Refugee & Immigrant Transitions to support newcomer students at Castlemont High$28Knot to exceed
- L.-16Pays Wellness Together up to $45,609.12 for added counseling support at Oakland High$46Knot to exceed
- L.-17Ratifies up to $25,620 for Oakland Genesis Soccer Club to run soccer practice at Coliseum College Prep$26Knot to exceed
- L.-18Ratifies up to $5,456 for Life I Love School to run a well-being program for girls at Reach Academy$5Knot to exceed
- L.-19Ratifies $414.40 for WILDCARE's Nature Van to visit Lincoln Elementary classes$414not to exceed
- L.-20Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $5,000 to handle internet billing for adult education$5Knot to exceed
- L.-21Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $9,350 to manage summer intern stipends at Life Academy$9Knot to exceed
- L.-22Amends the 2024-25 master contract with nonpublic special education schools on behavior interventionsNo cost stated
- L.-23Cuts $999.45 from a private school services agreement with LT Coaching and Consulting−$999new total $19K
- L.-24Ratifies up to $1,250 for leadership coaching sessions at Allendale Elementary$1Knot to exceed
- L.-25Ratifies up to $4,000 for Holistically Dope to lead an afterschool self-care workshop$4Knot to exceed
- L.-26Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $75,000 for the family resource center at Manzanita Community$75Knot to exceed
- L.-27Extends BORP's free wheelchair-accessible van access to June 2028 at no cost to the districtNo cost stated
- L.-28Ratifies up to $6,300 for Be the Change Consulting to train new youth practitioners$6Knot to exceed
- L.-29Adds $185,000 for Rob Skate Academy to serve 20 after-school sites instead of 15+$185Knew total $475K
- L.-30Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $101,900.73 as fiscal agent for summer program staff$102Knot to exceed
- L.-31Pays Oakland Leaf Foundation up to $5,000 to hand off the after-school lead agency role at La Escuelita$5Knot to exceed
- L.-32Moves electronic health records support from Welligent to Continuum Cloud at no added costNo cost stated
- L.-33Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $16,000 to run student mentoring at Oakland High$16Knot to exceed
- L.-34Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $23,768 for media elective classes at Met West High$24Knot to exceed
- L.-35Ratifies up to $6,300 for The Mosaic Project's five-day program for Reach Academy students$6Knot to exceed
- L.-36Pays Northeastern University's Mills College up to $3,200 for leadership coaching at Hillcrest$3Knot to exceed
- L.-37Pays Ball for Life Oakland up to $24,097.50 to review and redesign recess at Sequoia Elementary$24Knot to exceed
- L.-38Ratifies up to $15,000 for a Food Bank Coordinator at Elmhurst United Middle School$15Knot to exceed
- L.-39Pays Safer School Solutions up to $29,000 to update school safety and emergency protocols$29Knot to exceed
- L.-40Ratifies up to $10,781.25 for first aid and CPR training for LIFE Academy students$11Knot to exceed
- L.-41Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $10,791.87 to run LIFE Academy intern stipends$11Knot to exceed
- L.-42Ratifies up to $5,000 for Civic Productions' architecture civic projects at Fremont High$5Knot to exceed
- L.-43Ratifies up to $10,000 for Barretto-Co.'s communication plan for Met West High School$10Knot to exceed
- L.-44Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $67,045 to run summer intern stipends at Fremont High$67Knot to exceed
- L.-45Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $13,420 to run summer intern stipends at Sojourner Truth$13Knot to exceed
- L.-46Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $14,960 to run summer intern stipends at Oakland International High$15Knot to exceed
- L.-47Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $6,242.50 to run summer intern stipends at McClymonds High$6Knot to exceed
- L.-48Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $29,920 to run summer intern stipends at Oakland High$30Knot to exceed
- L.-49Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $90,502.50 to run summer intern stipends at Skyline High$91Knot to exceed
- L.-50Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $14,960 to run summer intern stipends at Coliseum College Prep$15Knot to exceed
- L.-51Pays Museum of Children's Arts up to $22,000 to train Castlemont peer leaders in college and career$22Knot to exceed
- L.-52Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $6,499.90 to run summer intern stipends at Ralph J. Bunche Academy$6Knot to exceed
- L.-53Pays Safe Passages up to $19,767 to administer work-based learning stipends at Oakland International High$20Knot to exceed
- L.-54Ratifies up to $6,600 for Philanthropic Ventures Foundation workshops for after-school providers$7Knot to exceed
- L.-55Extends Fremont Adult & Continuing Education's BankWork$ program agreement to 2028 at no costNo cost stated
- L.-56Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $15,000 to hand off after-school lead agency role at three schools$15Knot to exceed
- L.-57Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $42,000 to pay summer cluster lead stipends$42Knot to exceed
- L.-58Ratifies up to $5,000 for Ball for Life Oakland to support PE participation at Oakland High$5Knot to exceed
- L.-59Ratifies up to $13,500 for Playworks' recess program at Fruitvale Elementary$14Knot to exceed
- L.-60Pays East Bay Consortium up to $27,500 for college and financial aid support at Madison Park$28Knot to exceed
- L.-61Accepts $34,320 Oakland Promise grant for a Castlemont High case manager's home visits+$34Kcoming in
- L.-62Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $110,000 for Oakland Tech summer internship stipends$110Knot to exceed
- L.-63Hires Dietz, Gilmor & Chazen for workers' compensation defense, up to $100,000 a year through 2027$100K/yryearly cap
- L.-64Hires Friedman & Bartoumian for workers' compensation defense, up to $100,000 a year through 2027$100K/yryearly cap
- L.-65Hires Hanna Brophy for workers' compensation defense, up to $200,000 a year through 2027$200K/yryearly cap
- L.-66Hires Shaw Law Associates for workers' compensation defense, up to $200,000 a year through 2027$200K/yryearly cap
- L.-67Hires Testan Law for workers' compensation defense, up to $200,000 a year through 2027$200K/yryearly cap
- M.-1Hires KDI Group for up to $114,620 of construction inspection at Fremont High modernization$115Knot to exceed
- M.-2Hires Inspection Services, Inc. for up to $57,269.30 of materials testing at Fremont High$57Knot to exceed
- M.-3Pays ACC Environmental up to $10,169.50 to check for asbestos and lead before Maxwell Park work$10Knot to exceed
How the Board voted on the consent reports
General Consent Report: Approved 5–0, 4 absent
A motion was made by Director Williams, seconded by Director Berry, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote:
- Michele Vasquez Absent
- Maximus Simmons Absent
- Rachel Latta Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Absent
- Patrice Berry Aye
- Clifford Thompson Absent
- Valarie Bachelor Aye
- Jennifer Brouhard Aye
General Consent Report - General Obligation Bonds - Measures B, J and Y: Approved 4–0, 5 absent
A motion was made by Director Latta, seconded by Director Williams, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote:
- Michele Vasquez Absent
- Maximus Simmons Absent
- Rachel Latta Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Absent
- Patrice Berry Aye
- Clifford Thompson Absent
- Valarie Bachelor Aye
- Jennifer Brouhard Absent
From the official minutes in Legistar, April 9, 2025 meeting.
This is an independent project created to provide transparency to the OUSD Community, and is not affiliated with Oakland Unified District. All data used to create the Consent Report Tracker is made public by Legistar, OUSD's official platform for posting legislative records. Plain-English summaries are written by AI with narrow parameters based upon the official text of the reports. Read about how all this works.