Wednesday, June 10, 2020
General Consent Report, OUSD Board of Education Regular Meeting
Largest items
Not-to-exceed amounts, one scale. Yearly caps excluded.
Spending by category
Categories and sub-categories are assigned by AI from each item's official text, using a fixed set of definitions. They can be wrong. How categories workSelect a category to filter the list.
- P.-1Approves up to $169,356.95 for Titan nutrition program software through June 2021$169Kcumulative
- P.-2Hires Hazelrigg to adjust workers' compensation claims, up to $2,090,772 over three years$2.09Mcumulative
- P.-3Moves $250,000 milk and dairy bid from closed Berkeley Farms to Crystal Creamery$250Knot to exceed
- P.-4Accepts $97,500 from No Kid Hungry for grab-and-go meals during COVID-19+$98Kcoming in
- P.-5Continues no-cost school food partnership with Center for Ecoliteracy through 2023No cost stated
- P.-6Ratifies $19,000 for Entelo's virtual interview platform for hiring$19Knot to exceed
- P.-7Ratifies $19,000 for Study.com test prep licenses for teacher candidates$19Knot to exceed
- P.-8Creates five new job descriptions and revises one, mostly for Nutrition ServicesNo cost stated
- P.-9Accepts $454,000 from First 5 Alameda County for early-childhood school readiness+$454Kcoming in
- P.-10Accepts up to $93,555 in state refugee school grant funding for 2018-19+$94Kcoming in
- P.-11Amends refugee school grant agreement to a $114,608 maximum through September 2020Funding inamount not stated
- P.-12Amends refugee school grant agreement to a $323,779 maximum through September 2021Funding inamount not stated
- P.-13Approves Devereux Georgia nonpublic school services contract for 2019-20Cost not stated
- P.-14Ratifies $28,405 for Acta Non Verba summer program at Encompass Academy$28Knot to exceed
- P.-15Ratifies $54,600 for Aim High summer program at Urban Promise Academy$55Knot to exceed
- P.-16Adds $22,230 for Bay Area Community Resources summer program at Greenleaf Elementary+$22Knew total $127K
- P.-17Adds $22,230 for Bay Area Community Resources summer program at Hoover Elementary+$22Knew total $159K
- P.-18Adds $28,405 for Bay Area Community Resources summer program at Korematsu Discovery Academy+$28Knew total $134K
- P.-19Adds $28,405 for Bay Area Community Resources summer program at Community United Elementary+$28Knew total $134K
- P.-20Adds $12,350 for Bay Area Community Resources summer program at Madison Park Academy+$12Knew total $224K
- P.-21Adds $12,350 for Bay Area Community Resources summer program at Life Academy+$12Knew total $230K
- P.-22Adds $22,230 for Love, Learn, Success summer program at Global Family Elementary+$22Knew total $134K
- P.-23Adds $17,290 for Safe Passages summer program at Coliseum College Prep+$17Knew total $172K
- P.-24Adds $22,230 for Safe Passages summer program at United for Success Academy+$22Knew total $213K
- P.-25Adds $27,170 for Safe Passages summer program at Fruitvale Elementary+$27Knew total $137K
- P.-26Ratifies $43,225 for Edventure More summer program at Piedmont Avenue Elementary$43Knot to exceed
- P.-27Ratifies $37,700 for Lincoln summer program at West Oakland Middle School$38Knot to exceed
- P.-28Ratifies $27,170 for Nexplore USA summer program at Burckhalter Elementary$27Knot to exceed
- P.-29Adds $22,230 for Oakland Leaf Foundation summer program at Bret Harte Middle School+$22Knew total $203K
- P.-30Lets i3DigitalPD use student and staff data to evaluate APEX credit recovery, no costNo cost stated
- P.-31Adjusts Ujimaa Foundation's after-school program at Burckhalter Elementary School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-32Adjusts Ujimaa Foundation's after-school program at Carl Munck Elementary School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-33Adjusts East Bay Asian Youth Center after-school work at Bella Vista Elementary School for COVID, no new costNo cost stated
- P.-34Adjusts East Bay Asian Youth Center after-school work at Cleveland Elementary School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-35Adjusts East Bay Asian Youth Center after-school work at Edna Brewer Middle School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-36Adjusts East Bay Asian Youth Center after-school work at Franklin Elementary School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-37Adjusts East Bay Asian Youth Center after-school work at Garfield Elementary School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-38Adjusts East Bay Asian Youth Center after-school work at Lincoln Elementary School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-39COVID changes to East Bay Asian Youth Center program at Manzanita Community Elementary School, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-40COVID changes to East Bay Asian Youth Center program at Manzanita SEED Elementary School, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-41Adjusts East Bay Asian Youth Center's after-school program at Oakland High School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-42Adjusts East Bay Asian Youth Center's after-school program at MetWest High School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-43COVID changes to East Bay Asian Youth Center program at Oakland International High School, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-44Adjusts East Bay Asian Youth Center's after-school program at Roosevelt Middle School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-45Adjusts East Bay Asian Youth Center's after-school program at Urban Promise Academy for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-46Adjusts Citizen Schools's after-school program at Westlake Middle School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-47Adjusts Citizen Schools's after-school program at Greenleaf Elementary School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-48Adjusts Safe Passages's after-school program at Coliseum College Preparatory Academy for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-49Adjusts Higher Ground's after-school program at East Oakland Pride Elementary School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-50Adjusts Higher Ground's after-school program at Parker Elementary School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-51Adjusts Youth Together's after-school program at Skyline High School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-52Adjusts YMCA of the East Bay after-school work at Piedmont Avenue Elementary School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-53Adjusts YMCA of the East Bay's after-school program at Reach Academy for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-54Adds $4,000 to a contract for drug and tobacco awareness sessions at Madison Park Academy+$4Knew total $8K
- P.-55Adds $8,400 to a contract for LGBTQ youth support and drug awareness sessions at two high schools+$8Knew total $20K
- P.-56Adjusts Oakland Leaf Foundation's after-school program at EnCompass Academy for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-57Adjusts Oakland Leaf Foundation after-school work at International Community School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-58COVID changes to Oakland Leaf Foundation program at Think College Now Elementary School, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-59Adjusts Health Initiatives for Youth's after-school program at McClymonds High School for COVID, no added costNo cost stated
- P.-60Adds $675 to a contract for stage set design for Castlemont High School's drama production+$675new total $9K
- P.-61Adds $1,680 to a contract for a farm manager at Castlemont High School+$2Knew total $22K
- P.-62Pays Safe Passages up to $10,000 for social work services at Laurel Elementary$10Knot to exceed
- P.-63Pays a consultant up to $1,500 to build a Humanities 9 curriculum at Life Academy$2Knot to exceed
- P.-64Pays a consultant up to $1,475 to build Geometry and Statistics lessons at Life Academy$1Knot to exceed
- P.-65Pays a consultant up to $2,000 to build Algebra 1 and 2 lessons at Life Academy$2Knot to exceed
- P.-66Accepts $100,000 from the Haas Fund to train 100 career pathway teachers in trauma care+$100Kcoming in
- P.-67Pays Street Academy Foundation up to $2,000 for distance-learning career courses$2Knot to exceed
- P.-68Accepts $10,000 from Project Lead the Way for the engineering program at Oakland High+$10Kcoming in
- P.-69Accepts $20,000 from Project Lead the Way for its Gateway program at Madison Park Academy+$20Kcoming in
- P.-70Partners with Refugee Transitions; district would get $21,600 from Oakland youth fund+$22Kcoming in
- P.-71Leases classrooms at the former Rudsdale campus to Unity Middle School for about $56,281+$56Kcoming in
- P.-72Approves state charter school facilities agreement for Aspire Berkley Maynard Academy, no costNo cost stated
- P.-73Approves the minutes of the May 13, 2020 Board of Education meetingNo cost stated
- P1.-1Adds $10,000 and time for inspection services on Fruitvale Elementary alarm project+$10Knew total $60K
- P1.-2Pays Urban Design Consulting Engineers $12,880 for stormwater planning at Madison Park$13K
- P1.-3Pays Jensen Hughes up to $28,000 to review fire alarm plans for Claremont Middle School$28Knot to exceed
- P1.-4Pays KW Engineering $39,224 to check building systems design at Madison Park Academy$39K
- P1.-5Adds $573,781 and a year for Colland Jang Architecture project management services+$574Knew total $1.15M
- P1.-6Adds $2.01M and a year for Cordoba construction management on facilities projects+$2.01Mnew total $6.13M
- P1.-7Adds $1.09M and a year for Cumming construction management on the Measure J bond program+$1.09Mnew total $3.12M
- P1.-8Adds $190,000 and a year for School Facility Consultants to pursue state construction funding+$190Knew total $380K
- P2.-1Changes Girls Inc. after-school work at Acorn Woodland for COVID-19 rules, with no added costNo cost stated
- P2.-2Changes Girls Inc. after-school work at Allendale for COVID-19 rules, with no added costNo cost stated
- P2.-3Changes Girls Inc. after-school work at Bridges Academy for COVID-19 rules, with no added costNo cost stated
- P2.-4Changes Girls Inc. after-school work at Horace Mann for COVID-19 rules, with no added costNo cost stated
- P2.-5Changes Girls Inc. after-school work at LaEscuelita for COVID-19 rules, with no added costNo cost stated
How the Board voted on the consent reports
General Consent Report: Approved 6–1, 2 absent
A motion was made by Gonzales, seconded by HintonHodge, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Denilson Garibo Absent
- Mica Smith-Dahl Absent
- Jumoke HintonHodge Aye
- Gary Yee Aye
- Roseann Torres Aye
- James Harris Nay
- Aimee Eng Aye
- Shanthi Gonzales Aye
- Jody London Aye
General Consent Report - Measures B and J General Obligation Bonds (GOB): Approved 7–0, 2 absent
A motion was made by Yee, seconded by Gonzales, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Denilson Garibo Absent
- Mica Smith-Dahl Absent
- Jumoke HintonHodge Aye
- Gary Yee Aye
- Roseann Torres Aye
- James Harris Aye
- Aimee Eng Aye
- Shanthi Gonzales Aye
- Jody London Aye
General Consent Report #2: Approved 6–0, 1 recused, 2 absent
A motion was made by Gonzales, seconded by Yee, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Denilson Garibo Absent
- Mica Smith-Dahl Absent
- Jumoke HintonHodge Aye
- Gary Yee Aye
- Roseann Torres Recused
- James Harris Aye
- Aimee Eng Aye
- Shanthi Gonzales Aye
- Jody London Aye
From the official minutes in Legistar, June 10, 2020 meeting.
This is an independent project created to provide transparency to the OUSD Community, and is not affiliated with Oakland Unified District. All data used to create the Consent Report Tracker is made public by Legistar, OUSD's official platform for posting legislative records. Plain-English summaries are written by AI with narrow parameters based upon the official text of the reports. Read about how all this works.