Wednesday, April 27, 2022
General Consent Report, OUSD Board of Education Regular Meeting
1 item was pulled from the consent report and decided on May 11, 2022.
Yearly caps are counted separately. 1 items set a limit per year instead of a total, adding up to $100K a year. They aren't in the spending total above. The largest is Laughlin, Falbo, Levy and Moresi at up to $100K a year. Show yearly caps
Not counted in the totals above. $1.90M in grants applied for (3 items)
Largest items
Not-to-exceed amounts, one scale. Yearly caps excluded.
Spending by category
Categories and sub-categories are assigned by AI from each item's official text, using a fixed set of definitions. They can be wrong. How categories workSelect a category to filter the list.
- V.-1Adds $12,000 for Whole Life Nutrition to set up menu and recipe software+$12Knew total $83K
- V.-2Pays Brigaid up to $65,000 to assess OUSD's food service operation$65Knot to exceed
- V.-3Pays Scribble Software up to $17,400 for an online student records request system$17Knot to exceed
- V.-4Adds $450,000 for Chain Link Fence & Supply's on-call fence maintenance+$450Knew total $1.43M
- V.-5Pays Tulum Innovative Engineering up to $42,880 to remove old wiring at the central office$43Knot to exceed
- V.-6Pays Valley Relocation & Storage up to $50,000 to move central office floors$50Knot to exceed
- V.-7Hires HY Architects for up to $148,632 on an indoor air quality and comfort pilot project$149Knot to exceed
- V.-8Backs grant applications for full-day preschool and transitional kindergarten facilitiesNo cost stated
- V.-9Ends the district's services agreement with Calm.com Inc.No cost stated
- V.-10Approves a student data sharing agreement with Teach for America-Bay Area through June 2024No cost stated
- V.-11Approves no-cost teacher practica program with Western Governors University through 2024No cost stated
- V.-12Creates three job descriptions and revises five others, including a Title IX coordinatorNo cost stated
- V.-13Accepts $30,250 from Alameda County Office of Education to support homeless students+$30Kcoming in
- V.-14Raises state child care and development grant limit to $2,923,778 from $2,764,390Funding inamount not stated
- V.-15Approves the 2022-2023 school year calendar for the Young Adult ProgramNo cost stated
- V.-16Raises state preschool grant limit to $16,119,000 from $13,176,194Funding inamount not stated
- V.-17Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $20,000 for kindergarten readiness programming$20Knot to exceed
- V.-18Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $22,285.93 for summer student intern stipends$22Knot to exceed
- V.-19Pays Instruction Partners up to $74,812.97 for instructional improvement at Acorn Woodland$75Knot to exceed
- V.-20Pays STAC Physical Therapy up to $14,000 for student physical therapy services$14Knot to exceed
- V.-21Pays Coaching Corps up to $62,843 to expand after-school sports for youth$63Knot to exceed
- V.-22Pays Radicle Root Collective up to $13,750 for a wellness retreat and leadership coaching$14Knot to exceed
- V.-23Pays a consultant up to $4,000 for project-based learning training for summer programs$4Knot to exceed
- V.-24Pays Playworks up to $1,000 to support yard staff at Chabot Elementary School$1Knot to exceed
- V.-25Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $48,609.08 for early literacy tutors at Bella Vista$49Knot to exceed
- V.-26Pays a consultant up to $16,758 to coach and train teachers of newcomer students$17Knot to exceed
- V.-27Pays a consultant up to $5,000 for technical support on the California Healthy Kids Survey$5Knot to exceed
- V.-28Pays a photographer up to $9,325 to document expanded learning programs$9Knot to exceed
- V.-29Adds $23,046.42 for TransformCA's Safe Routes to School program and extends it to June 2022+$23Knew total $69K
- V.-30Adds $54,695 to Girls Inc.'s after-school program at Acorn Woodland Elementary School+$55Knew total $160K
- V.-31Adds $33,548 to Girls Inc.'s after-school program at West Oakland Middle School+$34Knew total $170K
- V.-32Adds $40,963 to Girls Inc.'s after-school program at Allendale Elementary+$41Knew total $140K
- V.-33Adds $48,236 to Girls Inc.'s after-school program at Parker Elementary+$48Knew total $185K
- V.-34Pays Mind Growers up to $36,000 for four months of cognitive coaching training$36Knot to exceed
- V.-35Pays Diablo Ballet up to $1,000 for student dance programming$1Knot to exceed
- V.-36Pays Carnegie Learning up to $11,925 to train teachers and tutors on a Spanish literacy curriculum$12Knot to exceed
- V.-37Adds $4,350 for Junior Center of Art and Science services for all Franklin Elementary students+$4Knew total $28K
- V.-38Pays a consultant up to $525 to help Redwood Heights Elementary's PTA with communication and fundraising$525not to exceed
- V.-39Pays Oakland Natives Give Back up to $359,223 to improve student attendance at assigned schools$359Knot to exceed
- V.-40Adds $27,398.75 to Bay Area Community Resources' work-based learning stipends at Fremont High+$27Knew total $107K
- V.-41Pays Public Health Institute up to $25,000 for a public health careers academy at Castlemont High$25Knot to exceed
- V.-42Pays a consultant up to $3,500 to finish a user guide for the district's Central Kitchen Education Center$4Knot to exceed
- V.-43Pays Reach Institute up to $49,980 for coursework for teacher leaders and early career administrators$50Knot to exceed
- V.-44Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $40,000 for student behavior support at Lockwood STEAM Academy$40Knot to exceed
- V.-45Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $80,000 for two attendance family advocates at Garfield Elementary$80Knot to exceed
- V.-46Pays Manchester Consulting up to $20,000 to teach restorative justice practices at Oakland International High$20Knot to exceed
- V.-47Pays Diablo Ballet up to $3,800 for conflict-resolution arts sessions at MLK Jr. and Lafayette Elementary$4Knot to exceed
- V.-48Accepts a $150,000 Walter & Elise Haas Fund grant to build an alumni-to-employment program+$150Kcoming in
- V.-49Applies for a $632,000 state outdoor equity grant for Life Academy and United for Success Academy+$632Kcoming in
- V.-50Applies for a $632,000 state outdoor equity grant for Madison Park Academy Upper students+$632Kcoming in
- V.-51Applies for a $632,000 state outdoor equity grant for Urban Promise Academy students+$632Kcoming in
- V.-52Pays a contractor up to $30,000 to manage the district's expanded learning grant program$30Knot to exceed
- V.-53Pays 510 MEDIA up to $60,000 to create "Choose OUSD" branding materials$60Knot to exceed
- V.-54Allows a researcher to use student data, at no cost, to build a de-identified data setNo cost stated
- V.-55Pays Stericycle up to $67,500 to dispose of Covid-19 testing medical waste at school sites$68Knot to exceed
- V.-56Amends Stericycle's medical waste contract: no price discounts in the first 12 monthsNo cost stated
- V.-57Updates Stericycle's pricing and pickup schedules at three elementary schools with no added costNo cost stated
- V.-58Pays Clifford Moss LLC up to $95,000 for strategy on renewing the Measure N parcel tax$95Knot to exceed
- V.-59Hires Laughlin, Falbo, Levy and Moresi for workers' compensation defense, up to $100,000 a year$100K/yryearly cap
- V.-60Ends the Jewish Community Center of the East Bay's childcare and after-school agreement at two schoolsNo cost stated
- V.-61Adopts a resolution allowing Board committees to meet virtually in May 2022No cost stated
- V1.-1Pays KDI Group up to $6,000 for inspection close-out at Madison Middle School expansion$6Knot to exceed
- V1.-2Ratifies up to $16,360 for Sandis stormwater pollution consulting at Castlemont field project$16Knot to exceed
- V1.-3Pays King Construction Inspection up to $113,602.50 for Castlemont field inspections$114Knot to exceed
- V1.-4Pays Applied Materials & Engineering up to $53,938.50 for Castlemont field testing$54Knot to exceed
- V1.-5Pays Johnson Controls Fire Protection up to $88,850.21 for Claremont Middle fire alarms$89Knot to exceed
- V1.-6Adds $2.32M to Cordoba's construction management contract, raising the cap to $3.22M+$2.32Mnew total $3.22M
- V1.-7Adds $2,629.20 and 118 days to DSK Architects' Frick Middle School contract+$3Knew total $19K
- V1.-8Pays IDA Structural Engineers up to $34,800 for Garfield Elementary seismic study$35Knot to exceed
How the Board voted on the consent reports
General Consent Report: Approved 5–0, 1 abstaining, 3 absent
A motion was made by Director Thompson, seconded by President Yee, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote:
- Samantha Pal Absent
- Natalie Gallegos Chavez Absent
- Aimee Eng Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Abstained
- Shanthi Gonzales Absent
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Benjamin "Sam" Davis Aye
- Gary Yee Aye
General Consent Report - General Obligation Bonds (GOB) - Measures B, J and Y: Approved 6–0, 3 absent
A motion was made by President Yee, seconded by Director Thompson, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote:
- Samantha Pal Absent
- Natalie Gallegos Chavez Absent
- Aimee Eng Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Aye
- Shanthi Gonzales Absent
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Benjamin "Sam" Davis Aye
- Gary Yee Aye
From the official minutes in Legistar, April 27, 2022 meeting.
This is an independent project created to provide transparency to the OUSD Community, and is not affiliated with Oakland Unified District. All data used to create the Consent Report Tracker is made public by Legistar, OUSD's official platform for posting legislative records. Plain-English summaries are written by AI with narrow parameters based upon the official text of the reports. Read about how all this works.