Wednesday, January 22, 2025
General Consent Report, OUSD Board of Education Regular Meeting
2 items were pulled from the consent report and decided on February 12, 2025.
Yearly caps are counted separately. 1 items set a limit per year instead of a total, adding up to $60K a year. They aren't in the spending total above. The largest is Lozano Smith LLP at up to $60K a year. Show yearly caps
Largest items
Not-to-exceed amounts, one scale. Yearly caps excluded.
Spending by category
Categories and sub-categories are assigned by AI from each item's official text, using a fixed set of definitions. They can be wrong. How categories workSelect a category to filter the list.
- L.-1Ratifies up to $16,600 for Commercial Door Solutions to install a dock leveler at the Central Kitchen$17Knot to exceed
- L.-2Adds $12,215.92 to KM 106 Construction's Melrose Leadership Academy at Sherman site project+$12Knew total $374K
- L.-3Adds $68,560.22 to NG Builders' Bridges Academy site project for garden, drainage and fencing work+$69Knew total $222K
- L.-4Extends Noll & Tam Architects' contract 181 days, to June 30, 2025, for the Urban Promise portable moveNo cost stated
- L.-5Hires Underwood & Rosenblum for up to $186,373 in site surveys at seven school sites$186Knot to exceed
- L.-6Pays ACC Environmental $11,136 for asbestos and lead paint testing at Hintil Kuu Pre-School$11K
- L.-7Adds $106,022 to Native Soil's Reach Academy site project for paving, trees and play surface work+$106Knew total $499K
- L.-8Adds $61,425 to Jensen Hughes' fire alarm engineering for McClymonds High and the Cole center+$61Knew total $349K
- L.-9Approves Personnel Report No. 2425-0005 from the Talent/Human Resources DepartmentNo cost stated
- L.-10Adopts a resolution giving release notices to probationary and temporary teachers not rehired for 2025-26No cost stated
- L.-11Adopts a resolution warning grant-funded teachers of possible reassignment in 2025-26No cost stated
- L.-12Approves a resolution giving notice of possible reassignment or release for administrators in 2025-26No cost stated
- L.-13Buys Navigate360 visitor management and emergency alert software for up to $100,000 through June 2026$100Knot to exceed
- L.-14Ratifies up to $44,466 for BRAVE Bay Area to help run human trafficking prevention education$44Knot to exceed
- L.-15Pays Community Initiatives up to $85,000 to train mentors and assess a reading mentoring pilot$85Knot to exceed
- L.-16Ratifies up to $6,555 for Kingmakers of Oakland's weekly program for Black boys at school sites$7Knot to exceed
- L.-17Ratifies up to $99,840 for Ignite Reading to tutor 61 students one-on-one in expanded learning$100Knot to exceed
- L.-18Adds $33,814 to Elevate Oakland's music contract for two schools and three spring showcases+$34Knew total $67K
- L.-19Pays Soccer Without Borders up to $277,500 for after-school soccer and student support at seven schools$278Knot to exceed
- L.-20Ratifies up to $40,000 for Refugee & Immigrant Transitions to support newly arrived refugee families$40Knot to exceed
- L.-21Pays Elevate Oakland up to $22,000 for after-school music at Garfield Elementary and Melrose Leadership$22Knot to exceed
- L.-22Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $57,234 for stipends to newcomer student leaders and interns$57Knot to exceed
- L.-23Pays Public Profit up to $56,000 to survey school staff about expanded learning programs$56Knot to exceed
- L.-24Ratifies up to $13,000 for Earth Team's hands-on environmental lessons at Skyline High School$13Knot to exceed
- L.-25Ratifies up to $15,000 for a consultant to lead healing circle training at Madison Park Academy$15Knot to exceed
- L.-26Ratifies up to $12,000 for Cactus Flower Therapy to supervise school counselors working toward licenses$12Knot to exceed
- L.-27Ratifies up to $12,000 for an individual contractor to supervise school counselors working toward licenses$12Knot to exceed
- L.-28Ratifies up to $25,000 for Youth Speaks to bring spoken word programs to United for Success Academy$25Knot to exceed
- L.-29Ratifies up to $12,500 for Reading Partners to give about 40 Lockwood STEAM students reading help$13Knot to exceed
- L.-30Ratifies up to $20,000 for an individual contractor to supervise school counselors working toward licenses$20Knot to exceed
- L.-31Pays EL Education up to $160,000 to coach elementary school leaders and teachers$160Knot to exceed
- L.-32Pays EL Education up to $117,000 to coach elementary school leaders and teachers$117Knot to exceed
- L.-33Ratifies up to $18,000 for EL Education to train and coach staff at Melrose Leadership Academy$18Knot to exceed
- L.-34Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $34,972.93 for a restorative ambassador at Frick$35Knot to exceed
- L.-35Adds $4,278.38 to Bay Area Community Resources' teacher training at Elmhurst United Middle School+$4Knew total $40K
- L.-36Pays The Teaching Well up to $15,000 for mentoring, coaching and wellness circles at Fruitvale$15Knot to exceed
- L.-37Ratifies up to $87,700 for EL Education to train and coach staff at EnCompass Academy$88Knot to exceed
- L.-38Ratifies up to $35,000 for a consultant to plan the district's visual and performing arts strategy$35Knot to exceed
- L.-39Adds $15,000 and three months to Hope Reimagined's student mental health services at Chabot+$15Knew total $30K
- L.-40Ratifies up to $26,000 for Design For Equity to study family needs for mental health materials$26Knot to exceed
- L.-41Ratifies up to $2,550 for AlciDesigns & Consulting to run the Linked Learning employer breakfast$3Knot to exceed
- L.-42Adds $4,000 to School Time Music's anti-racism training sessions for district faculty+$4Knew total $7K
- L.-43Accepts a $200,000 Warriors Community Foundation grant for elementary reading and math+$200Kcoming in
- L.-44Accepts a $502,000 grant for work-based learning for immigrant students at Oakland International+$502Kcoming in
- L.-45Accepts a $2,000 Schwab Fund donation for the copier fund at Emerson Elementary+$2Kcoming in
- L.-46Accepts $4.56M from the state for the district's child care and development program+$4.56Mcoming in
- L.-47Approves an agreement with the teachers' union on voluntary payroll deductions for its PACNo cost stated
- L.-48Adds $60,000 a year for Lozano Smith's legal help on charter school matters$60K/yryearly cap
- L.-49Adopts the district's TK-12 academic calendars for the 2025-2028 school yearsNo cost stated
- L.-50Approves extra pay for principals and managers who work Extended Learning OpportunitiesCost not stated
- L.-51Approves extra pay for administrators who take on added duties, under a UAOS agreementCost not stated
- L.-52Ratifies up to $28,520 for the California School Boards Association to help build a policy manual$29Knot to exceed
- L.-53Reappoints two members to the Measures N and H College and Career Readiness CommissionNo cost stated
- L.-54Reappoints a member to the Audit Committee for a third termNo cost stated
- M.-1Pays DecoTech Systems $43,313.33 for added network cabling at the 955 High Street offices$43K
- M.-2Adds $15,000 to NV5's solar project services for the Phase II and III PV Project+$15Knew total $255K
- M.-3Adds $45,180 to KDI Group's inspections for the West Oakland Middle School window project+$45Knew total $168K
- M.-4Adds $7,249 and six months to Sandis' utility scanning at Garfield Elementary modernization+$7Knew total $57K
- M.-5Adds $1,652.99 to Digital Design's fire alarm work at Coliseum College Prep interim housing+$2Knew total $86K
- M.-6Adds $91,885 and seven months to DSK Architects' West Oakland Middle School window design+$92Knew total $690K
- M.-7Adds $26,730 for The KDI Group's roof inspection closeout at Urban Promise+$27Knew total $32K
- M.-8Adds $16,268 to Deco Tech Systems' 900 High Street phone and data cabling job+$16Knew total $112K
- M.-9Buys Kahua construction project-management software for up to $509,018.12 through Jan. 2028$509Knot to exceed
How the Board voted on the consent reports
General Consent Report: Approved 6–0, 2 absent
A motion was made by Director Thompson, seconded by Director Latta, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Michele Vasquez P Abstention
- Maximus Simmons Absent
- Rachel Latta Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Absent
- Patrice Berry Aye
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Valarie Bachelor Aye
- Jennifer Brouhard Aye
General Consent Report - General Obligation Bonds - Measures B, J and Y: Approved 6–0, 3 absent
A motion was made by Director Thompson, seconded by Director Latta, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Michele Vasquez Absent
- Maximus Simmons Absent
- Rachel Latta Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Absent
- Patrice Berry Aye
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Valarie Bachelor Aye
- Jennifer Brouhard Aye
From the official minutes in Legistar, January 22, 2025 meeting.
This is an independent project created to provide transparency to the OUSD Community, and is not affiliated with Oakland Unified District. All data used to create the Consent Report Tracker is made public by Legistar, OUSD's official platform for posting legislative records. Plain-English summaries are written by AI with narrow parameters based upon the official text of the reports. Read about how all this works.