Wednesday, December 9, 2020
General Consent Report, OUSD Board of Education Regular Meeting
Not counted in the totals above. $43.6M in payments already made (2 items) · $756K in budget allocations (9 items) · $361K in grants applied for (2 items)
Largest items
Not-to-exceed amounts, one scale. Yearly caps excluded.
Spending by category
Categories and sub-categories are assigned by AI from each item's official text, using a fixed set of definitions. They can be wrong. How categories workSelect a category to filter the list.
- V.-1Buys Cisco phone licenses from CDW-G for up to $648,960 through an existing contract, 2020-2025$649Kamount unverified
- V.-2Approves $24.89M in accounts payable checks issued in October 2020$24.9Mcumulative
- V.-3Approves $18.7M in payroll checks and direct deposits for October 2020$18.7Mcumulative
- V.-4Awards Redgwick Construction $297,200 to replace Horace Mann Elementary's retaining wall and stairs$297K
- V.-5Ratifies Gensler's free design work on outdoor learning spaces at Laurel Elementary and Bridges AcademyNo cost stated
- V.-6Adds $64,500 and extends DCG Strategies' property re-use consulting to $100,000 through June 2021+$65Knew total $100K
- V.-7Approves Personnel Report No. 1920-0007 on staffing actionsNo cost stated
- V.-8Renews Fresno Pacific University partnership for teacher interns and student teaching through 2023No cost stated
- V.-9Creates or revises three job descriptions: LGBTQ programming, resource planning and outdoor environmentalNo cost stated
- V.-10Adds 51.5 full-time-equivalent positions to the 2020-21 budgetNo cost stated
- V.-11Approves 2020-21 special education master contract with Anova Center for EducationNo cost stated
- V.-12Approves 2020-21 special education master contract with Arise Educational CenterNo cost stated
- V.-13Approves 2020-21 special education master contract with Star AcademyNo cost stated
- V.-14Approves 2020-21 special education master contract with La Cheim School, Inc.No cost stated
- V.-15Approves 2020-21 special education master contract with Spectrum CenterNo cost stated
- V.-16Approves 2020-21 special education master contract with EBS Healthcare, Inc.No cost stated
- V.-17Approves 2020-21 special education master contract with Aya Healthcare Inc.No cost stated
- V.-18Amends state child care contract CCTR 0010-01 to follow the Alameda County Pilot Plan for 2020-21Funding inamount not stated
- V.-19Amends state preschool contract CSPP 0021-01 to follow the Alameda County Pilot Plan for 2020-21Funding inamount not stated
- V.-20Amends Safe Passages agreement for in-person learning hub at Coliseum College Prep at no added costNo cost stated
- V.-21Pays Spanish Speaking Unity Council up to $200,000 for academic support for Latino males, students of color$200Knot to exceed
- V.-22Ratifies up to $4,500 for Elevate Oakland to bring professional artists to McClymonds High students$5Knot to exceed
- V.-23Ratifies no-cost partnership with Upward Roots for youth service learning at 15 schools through 2023No cost stated
- V.-24Approves no-cost Soccer Without Borders program supporting newcomer students at seven schoolsNo cost stated
- V.-25Approves no-cost buildOn community service learning program for high school students through 2023No cost stated
- V.-26Ratifies no-cost uAspire college financial aid advising at six high schools through 2023No cost stated
- V.-27Ratifies up to $60,000 for a contractor to coordinate COVID food distribution volunteers$60Knot to exceed
- V.-28Pays Soccer Without Borders up to $112,000 for virtual soccer programs for newly arrived students$112Knot to exceed
- V.-29Ratifies up to $3,750 for Mills Teacher Scholars to support teacher collaboration planning$4Knot to exceed
- V.-30Ratifies up to $60,000 for Refugee & Immigrant Transitions to support refugee students and families$60Knot to exceed
- V.-31Pays Cantare Con Vivo up to $31,827 for music lessons and a choir at Lincoln Elementary$32Knot to exceed
- V.-32Pays Swun Math up to $230,100 for math coaching at Community United and Futures Elementary$230Knot to exceed
- V.-33Pays Elevate Oakland up to $3,500 for art and music programming at Parker Elementary$4Knot to exceed
- V.-34Pays 4FamilyBarbque Culture Builder up to $60,000 for student mentoring and family outreach at Futures$60Knot to exceed
- V.-35Pays URBANLIFE Mentors up to $10,000 for virtual mentoring of Black and Latino boys at Parker$10Knot to exceed
- V.-36Pays Dovetail Learning up to $55,440 for social emotional learning coaching at Community United$55Knot to exceed
- V.-37Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $25,000 as community manager at MLK and Lafayette Elementary$25Knot to exceed
- V.-38Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $12,000 for student behavior support at Community United$12Knot to exceed
- V.-39Accepts free coding and tech mentoring from TEAM Inc. for McClymonds High students through 2023No cost stated
- V.-40Accepts free Jumpstart early-learning program for preschoolers at district child development centersNo cost stated
- V.-41Accepts a $507,847 federal grant for human trafficking prevention training and student education+$508Kcoming in
- V.-42Accepts free garden and outdoor-learning support from Common Vision/Growing TogetherNo cost stated
- V.-43Pays a trauma-informed care trainer up to $4,000 for three staff trainings at Life Academy$4Knot to exceed
- V.-44Pays East Bay Consortium up to $27,000 for college advising for seniors at Madison Park Academy$27Knot to exceed
- V.-45Pays East Bay Consortium up to $20,000 for UC Berkeley tutors in Algebra 1 at Oakland Tech$20Knot to exceed
- V.-46Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $9,000 for a case manager at Ralph J. Bunche Academy$9Knot to exceed
- V.-47Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $28,000 for two AmeriCorps teaching assistants at Rudsdale$28Knot to exceed
- V.-48Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $200,000 for a Black family outreach liaison$200Knot to exceed
- V.-49Pays an instructor up to $15,710 for Mam language, culture and mentoring at Oakland High$16Knot to exceed
- V.-50Pays a consultant up to $13,090 to coach early-career humanities teachers at Ralph J. Bunche$13Knot to exceed
- V.-51Pays East Bay Asian Youth Center up to $40,000 for a school culture coach at Cleveland Elementary$40Knot to exceed
- V.-52Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $100,000 for two student support staff at EnCompass Academy$100Knot to exceed
- V.-53Pays a contractor up to $15,000 for a garden-based English learner and health program$15Knot to exceed
- V.-54Pays Leading Educators up to $306,609 to improve how OUSD picks and teaches curriculum through 2023$307Knot to exceed
- V.-55Pays Attitudinal Healing Connection up to $12,500 for a resident artist at Hoover Elementary$13Knot to exceed
- V.-56Pays Destiny Arts Center up to $12,000 for arts education for 120 students at Prescott Elementary$12Knot to exceed
- V.-57Pays a trainer up to $10,000 for a race, equity and healing training series at Greenleaf Elementary$10Knot to exceed
- V.-58Pays an artist in residence up to $10,000 for multicultural art lessons at Bella Vista Elementary$10Knot to exceed
- V.-59Pays Heart in Balance up to $5,000 for student therapy sessions at Peralta Elementary$5Knot to exceed
- V.-60Pays EL Education up to $121,000 for planning workshops and implementation support for schools$121Knot to exceed
- V.-61Sets up a partnership with Friends of Oakland Public School Libraries for a digital library, up to $300,000$300Knot to exceed
- V.-62Ratifies up to $33,536 for American Indian Child Resource Center services to Native students in grades 6-12$34Knot to exceed
- V.-63Ratifies up to $40,000 for Maker Ed to build coding lessons for ASES Kids Code after-school programs$40Knot to exceed
- V.-64Accepts a $615,709 grant from the Schusterman Family Foundation for curriculum and engagement support+$616Kcoming in
- V.-65Accepts a $1.85M Kenneth Rainin Foundation grant for early literacy support in 39 schools+$1.85Mcoming in
- V.-66Ratifies up to $5,000 for Lincoln's mental health team at New Highland Academy$5Knot to exceed
- V.-67Accepts a $500,000 California Department of Social Services grant for support to unaccompanied immigrant youth+$500Kcoming in
- V.-68Approves EnCompass Academy's 2020-21 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- V.-69Raises a state transition-program grant for special education students to a $1,206,957 maximumFunding inamount not stated
- V.-70Adds $180,000 from the City of Oakland for student summer internship stipends; extends grant to May 2021+$180Kcoming in
- V.-71Adds up to $442,670 from First 5 Alameda County for school-readiness programs for children under 5+$443Kcoming in
- V.-72Applies for a $29,979 Alameda County grant to plan arts education in Oakland schools+$30Kcoming in
- V.-73Accepts a $305,000 ACE grant for the Learning Center Program at Oakland International High School+$305Kcoming in
- V.-74Approves Montera Middle School's 2020-21 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- V.-75Approves Madison Park Academy - Upper Campus's 2020-21 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- V.-76Approves Dewey Academy's 2020-21 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- V.-77Approves Oakland High School's 2020-21 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- V.-78Approves Sankofa United Elementary School's 2020-21 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- V.-79Approves Life Academy's 2020-21 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- V.-80Approves Ralph J. Bunche High School's 2020-21 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- V.-81Approves Coliseum College Preparatory Academy's 2020-21 School Plan for Student AchievementNo cost stated
- V.-82Names the merged Community United and Futures elementary schools Lockwood STEAM AcademyNo cost stated
- V.-83Acknowledges receipt of a legal agreement with Roses in Concrete signed by the SuperintendentNo cost stated
- V.-84Ratifies a $200 payment to the district for using Sequoia Elementary as an accessible voting location+$200coming in
- V.-85Ratifies a no-cost COVID-19 testing agreement with Curative Labs for employee screening through 2023No cost stated
- V.-86Awards Goldstar Foods up to $6,269,349.25 to supply groceries for school meals in 2020-21$6.27Mnot to exceed
- V.-87Leases the former Webster child care center to Unity Council for $5,000 a month for five years+$5Kcoming in
- V.-88Ratifies up to $15,000 for Geosyntec to assess indoor air health risks at the Acorn Woodland campus$15Knot to exceed
- V.-89Ratifies a no-cost weekend facilities use agreement for The Movement Church at Elmhurst United Middle SchoolNo cost stated
- V.-90Appoints board members to the Chabot Space & Science Center Joint Powers Authority through 2021No cost stated
- V.-91Extends North Oakland Community Charter School's operating agreement with the district to June 2023No cost stated
- V.-92Lets Urban Montessori Charter School use Tilden classrooms, paying the district $133,641 a year+$134Kcoming in
- V.-93Lets Francophone Academy use Toler Heights classrooms, paying the district $39,406 a year+$39Kcoming in
- V.-94Lets Achieve Academy use Hawthorne classrooms, paying the district $229,086 a year+$229Kcoming in
- V.-95Lets LPS Oakland R&D use Castlemont High School classrooms, paying the district $188,239 a year+$188Kcoming in
- V.-96Lets Cox Academy use Cox School classrooms, paying the district $248,085 a year+$248Kcoming in
- V.-97Lets East Bay Innovation Academy use Marshall classrooms, paying the district $123,426 a year+$123Kcoming in
- V.-98Lets Unity Middle Charter School use Rudsdale classrooms, paying the district $53,725 a year+$54Kcoming in
- V.-99Applies for $330,948.75 in federal grant money for safety measures at 27 school sites+$331Kcoming in
- V.-100Shares student attendance data with Kinvolved for family messaging at no cost to the districtNo cost stated
- V.-101Adds $72,000 for TalkingPoints texting platform at all K-12 schools, raising total to $342,000+$72Knew total $342K
- V.-102Partners with Oakland Promise and Honors Pathway on a post-graduation Microcollege Program at no costNo cost stated
- V.-103Pays Education Pioneers up to $25,000 for a fellow to support the district's COVID-19 response team$25Knot to exceed
- V.-104Pays up to $156,000 to keep the district's 2020-21 membership in the CORE Districts collaborative$156Knot to exceed
- V.-105Accepts $329,336 federal grant for entry buzzers, visitor systems and safety film at 27 school sites+$329Kcoming in
- V.-106Approves carrying over $314,946.56 in unspent 2019-20 Measure G1 funds for middle schools$315Kcumulative
- V.-107Lets Ralph J. Bunche High School carry over $103,345.78 in unspent 2019-20 Measure N funds$103K
- V.-108Lets Castlemont High School carry over $92,460.86 in unspent 2019-20 Measure N funds$92K
- V.-109Lets Dewey Academy carry over $32,874.31 in unspent 2019-20 Measure N funds$33K
- V.-110Lets Life Academy carry over $92,212.09 in unspent 2019-20 Measure N funds$92K
- V.-111Lets MetWest High School carry over $52,184.34 in unspent 2019-20 Measure N funds$52K
- V.-112Lets Oakland International High School carry over $56,830.10 in unspent 2019-20 Measure N funds$57K
- V.-113Shifts $10,000 in Ralph Bunche Academy's Measure N funds to a job-training consultant$10K
- V.-114Shifts $1,500 in Ralph Bunche Academy's Measure N funds from culinary to audio-visual equipment$2K
- V.-115Approves the minutes of the Board's November 12, 2020 regular meetingNo cost stated
- V.-116Pays a consultant up to $9,000 to plan and run orientation meetings for new Board members$9Knot to exceed
- V.-117Approves the minutes of the Board's December 2, 2020 special meetingNo cost stated
- V1.-1Adds $28,349 and 118 days for Anthonio's inspection work on Emerson's softball field, to $80,720+$28Knew total $81K
- V1.-2Pays Arbitrage Compliance Specialists $12,750 to check the district's bond debt against IRS rules$13K
- V1.-3Adds $2,171.79 to Sof Surfaces' Sequoia playmatting job for site leveling, to $88,390.86+$2Knew total $88K
- V1.-4Extends Consolidated Engineering's testing at Emerson softball field to March 2021No cost stated
- V1.-5Pays ACC Environmental $33,548 for soil sampling at the Glenview Elementary construction site$34K
- V1.-6Adds $37,778.40 for Elite Security patrols at The Center Project through December 2020+$38Knew total $92K
- V1.-7Hires Gould Evans for up to $794,100 in design work on the Laurel Child Development Center$794Knot to exceed
- V1.-8Awards Crown Worldwide $16,966.86 to move 24 classrooms and offices at Fremont High$17K
- V1.-9Adds $90,000 so the district can buy two leased portables at Madison Park Academy+$90Knew total $410K
- V1.-10Pays Jensen Hughes up to $8,688.61 to update the district's fire and intrusion alarm standards$9Knot to exceed
How the Board voted on the consent reports
General Consent Report: Approved 7–0, 2 absent
A motion was made by Director HintonHodge, seconded by Vice President Gonzales, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Jessica Ramos Absent
- Samantha Pal Absent
- Aimee Eng Aye
- Jumoke HintonHodge Aye
- Gary Yee Aye
- Roseann Torres Aye
- James Harris Aye
- Shanthi Gonzales Aye
- Jody London Aye
General Consent Report: Approved 7–0, 2 absent
A motion was made by Director Yee, seconded by Director HintonHodge, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Jessica Ramos Absent
- Samantha Pal Absent
- Aimee Eng Aye
- Jumoke HintonHodge Aye
- Gary Yee Aye
- Roseann Torres Aye
- James Harris Aye
- Shanthi Gonzales Aye
- Jody London Aye
From the official minutes in Legistar, December 9, 2020 meeting.
This is an independent project created to provide transparency to the OUSD Community, and is not affiliated with Oakland Unified District. All data used to create the Consent Report Tracker is made public by Legistar, OUSD's official platform for posting legislative records. Plain-English summaries are written by AI with narrow parameters based upon the official text of the reports. Read about how all this works.