Wednesday, December 11, 2024
General Consent Report, OUSD Board of Education Regular Meeting
Largest items
Not-to-exceed amounts, one scale. Yearly caps excluded.
Spending by category
Categories and sub-categories are assigned by AI from each item's official text, using a fixed set of definitions. They can be wrong. How categories workSelect a category to filter the list.
- L.-1Pays Blenderbox up to $152,000 to update EnrollWise, the district's school enrollment software$152Knot to exceed
- L.-2Ratifies up to $86,400 for Central California Advisors to help run Nutrition Services$86Knot to exceed
- L.-3Ratifies up to $86,400 for Solutions for You to oversee Nutrition Services purchasing$86Knot to exceed
- L.-4Ratifies up to $86,400 for a contractor to oversee Nutrition Services field operations$86Knot to exceed
- L.-5Ratifies up to $25,000 for Nor-Cal Moving Services to move kitchen equipment to school sites$25Knot to exceed
- L.-6Adds $16,500 to Jensen Hughes' contract for Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary alarm project+$17Knew total $223K
- L.-7Pays Protect|Education $912,087.23 for air purifiers and a pilot study at five school sites$912K
- L.-8Declares district vehicles surplus and authorizes their disposalNo cost stated
- L.-9Ratifies up to $30,000 for Compsych to provide counseling after a crisis such as a school shooting$30Knot to exceed
- L.-10Adds $49,000 to Luna Bell Industries' contract for environmental risk work at school sites+$49Knew total $99K
- L.-11Ratifies up to $99,000 for environmental testing, including soil gas, at school sites$99Knot to exceed
- L.-12Approves up to $99,000 for Restoration Management Company's environmental cleanup at school sites$99Kcumulative
- L.-13Hires Bay City Surplus to sell district surplus items for a 38 percent commissionSales capnot a cost
- L.-14Approves Personnel Report No. 2425-0004 from Talent/Human ResourcesNo cost stated
- L.-15Pays a coordinator up to $9,000 to coach teachers through Teacher Performance Assessments$9Knot to exceed
- L.-16Places Concordia University Irvine graduate students for school fieldwork at no cost, through 2029No cost stated
- L.-17Partners with Reach University to place teacher and counselor interns in OUSD schools through 2029No cost stated
- L.-18Pays CODESP up to $3,475 for assessments for paraeducator job candidates$3Knot to exceed
- L.-19Creates a Paraeducator, Young Adult Services job and revises two other paraeducator job descriptionsNo cost stated
- L.-20Castlemont High construction pre-apprenticeship program: district fronts costs, reimbursed up to $400,001 in federal fundsFunding inamount not stated
- L.-21Accepts a $26,375,121 increase in state funding for the California State Preschool Program+$26.4Mcoming in
- L.-22Shares student data with CORE Districts for dashboards and the Break Through Success AcademyNo cost stated
- L.-23Pays Lexia Voyager Sopris up to $48,800 for online staff training for Special Education$49Knot to exceed
- L.-24Adds up to $194,260 from Alameda Alliance for Health for a housing and homeless program+$194Kcoming in
- L.-25Frontline Catalysts brings its climate justice youth leadership program to United for Success AcademyNo cost stated
- L.-26Ratifies up to $25,000 for Yeah, Art! to teach music and songwriting at Roosevelt Middle School$25Knot to exceed
- L.-27Ratifies up to $10,982 for Street Soccer USA to run the fall middle school futsal league$11Knot to exceed
- L.-28Ratifies up to $3,000 for Heart in Balance to provide therapy sessions at Peralta Elementary$3Knot to exceed
- L.-29Oakland Symphony to give small-group instrumental lessons in music classes at no costNo cost stated
- L.-30Ratifies up to $10,000 for Children Rising to tutor Laurel Elementary students in reading and math$10Knot to exceed
- L.-31Pays Cantare Con Vivo up to $25,000 for music lessons at La Escuelita Elementary$25Knot to exceed
- L.-32Pays School Time Music LLC up to $3,000 for two anti-racism training sessions for arts teachers$3Knot to exceed
- L.-33Pays Khepera Curriculum Group up to $75,000 to train and coach high school mentoring instructors$75Knot to exceed
- L.-34Pays Luna Dance & Creativity up to $22,000 to train teachers to use dance in class$22Knot to exceed
- L.-35No-cost agreement brings Diversity in Health Training Institute staff to West Oakland Middle SchoolNo cost stated
- L.-36Pays Wellness Together up to $19,003.80 for counseling at Crocker Highlands Elementary$19Knot to exceed
- L.-37Pays Cantare Con Vivo up to $11,000 for music classes for grades 2-5 at Laurel Elementary$11Knot to exceed
- L.-38Pays East Bay Art Therapy up to $14,100 for 24 art therapy groups at Dewey Academy$14Knot to exceed
- L.-39Pays Rob Skate Academy up to $4,500 for skateboard-based communication workshops at Dewey Academy$5Knot to exceed
- L.-40Pays Hope Reimagined up to $50,000 for therapy and case management at Sojourner Truth program$50Knot to exceed
- L.-41Pays Positive Coaching Alliance up to $110,000 to evaluate the elementary sports program$110Knot to exceed
- L.-42Pays Center for the Collaborative Classroom up to $109,000 to coach early literacy tutors$109Knot to exceed
- L.-43Pays KWT Consulting up to $83,952 for leadership coaching at McClymonds High School$84Knot to exceed
- L.-44Pays WildCare up to $173.40 for a science assembly at Garfield Elementary$173not to exceed
- L.-45Pays Children Rising up to $5,000 for literacy tutoring at Brookfield Elementary$5Knot to exceed
- L.-46Pays East Bay Agency for Children up to $110,000 for wellness leadership support at Bella Vista$110Knot to exceed
- L.-47Pays American Conservatory Theater up to $15,000 for theater classes at Peralta Elementary$15Knot to exceed
- L.-48Pays Attitudinal Healing Connection up to $22,000 for media and art programs at Bret Harte$22Knot to exceed
- L.-49Pays Attitudinal Healing Connection up to $22,500 for visual arts classes at Hoover Elementary$23Knot to exceed
- L.-50Pays Attitudinal Healing Connection up to $23,500 for visual arts programs at Allendale Elementary$24Knot to exceed
- L.-51Pays East Bay Agency for Children up to $120,000 for a full-time therapist at Rudsdale High$120Knot to exceed
- L.-52Pays Servio Consulting up to $52,500 to maintain the Salesforce student services database$53Knot to exceed
- L.-53Pays Hope Reimagined up to $60,000 for clinical services and staff training at Emerson Elementary$60Knot to exceed
- L.-54Pays Seneca Family of Agencies up to $27,000 for social skills groups at Horace Mann Elementary$27Knot to exceed
- L.-55Pays GER Lab up to $7,000 to train middle school teachers on teaching ratios and percentages$7Knot to exceed
- L.-56Pays Reading Partners up to $15,000 for one-on-one reading help at Laurel Elementary$15Knot to exceed
- L.-57Pays Safe Passages up to $15,000 for two social worker interns at Laurel Elementary$15Knot to exceed
- L.-58Pays Safe Passages up to $25,000 for English help for newcomer students at Laurel Elementary$25Knot to exceed
- L.-59Pays a reading specialist up to $45,000 for first-grade reading help at Laurel Elementary$45Knot to exceed
- L.-60No-cost agreement brings Fred Finch Youth & Family Services therapy to Garfield ElementaryNo cost stated
- L.-61Accepts free reading tutoring from Reading Partners at Highland Community SchoolNo cost stated
- L.-62Adds $16,413.52 to an arts-integration teacher training and classroom support contract+$16Knew total $69K
- L.-63Pays Improve Your Tomorrow up to $48,864 for mentoring young men of color at Madison Park Academy$49Knot to exceed
- L.-64Pays Living Jazz up to $37,620 for after-school music instruction at three schools$38Knot to exceed
- L.-65Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $45,834.80 for youth intern stipends$46Knot to exceed
- L.-66Pays Soccer Without Borders up to $65,000 for a 10-week newcomer youth soccer program$65Knot to exceed
- L.-67Pays a trainer up to $16,000 to teach school threat assessment to about 400 staff and partners$16Knot to exceed
- L.-68Adds $45,000 and extends a contract for after-school arts partnership coordination+$45Knew total $110K
- L.-69Pays Aguacero up to $400 for a Puerto Rican music and dance assembly at Hillcrest Elementary$400not to exceed
- L.-70Pays Mentoring Medicine & Science up to $36,000 for first aid training and sports EMTs$36Knot to exceed
- L.-71Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $45,000 for AmeriCorps English learner support at Rudsdale$45Knot to exceed
- L.-72Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $16,000 for student data tracking at Rudsdale$16Knot to exceed
- L.-73Pays Bay Area Community Resources up to $22,500 for student support services at Think College Now$23Knot to exceed
- L.-74Adds $90,000 to Bay Area Community Resources' newcomer student safety program+$90Knew total $150K
- L.-75Pays Lincoln up to $5,000 for a mental health team at Fruitvale Elementary$5Knot to exceed
- L.-76Pays Oakland Public Education Fund up to $100,000 for anti-hate and anti-bias staff programs$100Knot to exceed
- L.-77Adds $88,232 for Museum of Children's Arts after-school visual art at five elementary schools+$88Knew total $152K
- L.-78Pays a contractor up to $2,000 for human trafficking prevention curriculum for newcomer students$2Knot to exceed
- L.-79Accepts a free 13-week theme-park story workshop from Chapter 510 Ink at Hoover ElementaryNo cost stated
- L.-80Pays American Indian Child Resource Center up to $46,337.42 for after-school and summer programs$46Knot to exceed
- L.-81Pays Oakland Serves up to $7,500 for mentors supporting high school credit recovery$8Knot to exceed
- L.-82Accepts free mental health services from La Cheim School for Garfield Elementary studentsNo cost stated
- L.-83Pays Swanson & Cosgrave up to $22,500 to support college and career pathways at charter schools$23Knot to exceed
- L.-84Pays Attitudinal Healing Connection up to $23,500 for arts programs at West Oakland Middle$24Knot to exceed
- L.-85Pays a contractor up to $15,000 to manage Measure N and H reimbursements for charter schools$15Knot to exceed
- L.-86Pays an evaluator up to $18,000 to study a cross-age mentorship program in two high schools$18Knot to exceed
- L.-87Pays Northeastern University - Mills College up to $22,800 for leadership coaching at La Escuelita$23Knot to exceed
- L.-88Pays Northeastern University - Mills College up to $19,300 to build Linked Learning coaching skills$19Knot to exceed
- L.-89Pays Northeastern University - Mills College up to $13,400 for design team work at Madison Park$13Knot to exceed
- L.-90Pays Street Academy Foundation up to $37,885.71 for pathway courses at Emiliano Zapata Street Academy$38Knot to exceed
- L.-91Adds $19,375 to Melissa Early Education's teacher learning groups at three early education sites+$19Knew total $81K
- L.-92Extends Hope Reimagined's student mental health services at Chabot Elementary to Feb. 2025, no added costNo cost stated
- L.-93Pays Public Profit up to $97,600 to produce a summer learning report and handle student data$98Knot to exceed
- L.-94Takes up to $56,000 from American Institutes for Research for a school working-conditions study+$56Kcoming in
- L.-95Accepts $453,223.94 more in state CalNew funds for newcomer support and extends the grant to 2026+$453Kcoming in
- L.-96Pays Safe Passages up to $1,730 for family workshops and cultural events at Oakland International High$2Knot to exceed
- L.-97Pays Safe Passages up to $30,000 for AmeriCorps members supporting media classes at Oakland International$30Knot to exceed
- L.-98Pays Safe Passages up to $75,923 for mental health services at Oakland International High$76Knot to exceed
- L.-99Changes the rate schedule in The Behavior Center's special education contract, no dollar figure statedCost not stated
- L.-100Receives up to $90,000 from Alameda County Office of Education for social-emotional learning at focal schools+$90Kcoming in
- L.-101Pays IlluminatED Collective up to $15,000 to redesign high school schedules and a course approval process$15Knot to exceed
- L.-102Approves a no-dollar agreement for school instruction of children treated at Children's Hospital OaklandNo cost stated
- L.-103Accepts a $7,500 state grant for the California Prekindergarten and Family Literacy Program+$8Kcoming in
- L.-104Accepts a $26.06M state grant for the California State Preschool Program for 2024-25+$26.1Mcoming in
- L.-105Accepts a $7,500 college and career grant for Skyline High's engineering pathway field trips+$8Kcoming in
- L.-106Accepts a $6,150 college and career grant for Dewey Academy's healthcare pathway+$6Kcoming in
- L.-107Accepts a $7,490 college and career grant for Oakland High's Public Health Academy+$7Kcoming in
- L.-108Accepts $70,000 more from CSU East Bay Foundation for K-16 and dual enrollment work, including McClymonds+$70Kcoming in
- L.-109Approves Oakland Tech's trip for 34 students to Basketball Showdown in Minneapolis at no district costNo cost stated
- L.-110Adds $280,064 to Spanish Speaking Unity Council's mentoring and wellness programs at three schools+$280Knew total $430K
- L.-111Pays a consultant up to $30,000 to visit charter schools and report on their academic programs$30Knot to exceed
- L.-112Moves $86,623.75 at Castlemont High from supplies to a part-time work-based learning liaisonNo cost stated
- L.-113Moves $10,710 at Sojourner Truth Independent Study from laptops to a computer science curriculum licenseNo cost stated
- L.-114Shifts $5,000 at Skyline High to pay Youth Together for student internship stipendsNo cost stated
- L.-115Shifts $5,000 at Skyline High's arts academy to pay Youth Together for student internship stipendsNo cost stated
- L.-116Shifts $1,000 at Skyline High from contracted buses to BART and bus passes for college visitsNo cost stated
- L.-117Moves $6.88 within the High School Linked Learning Office's Measures N and H budget to cover legal adsNo cost stated
- L.-118Approves a $54,938.98 Measures N and H carryover budget for Ralph J. Bunche Academy$55K
- L.-119Approves a $152,011.60 Measures N and H carryover budget for Dewey Academy$152K
- L.-120Approves a $66,825.78 Measures N and H carryover budget for Oakland Emiliano Zapata Street Academy$67K
- L.-121Approves $82,081.47 Measure N and H carryover budget for Rudsdale schools$82K
- L.-122Approves $267,482.42 Measure N and H carryover budget for Madison Park Academy$267K
- L.-123Approves $179,904.23 Measure N and H carryover budget for Coliseum College Prep$180K
- L.-124Approves $229,838.64 Measure N and H carryover budget for Oakland High$230K
- L.-125Approves $178,748.49 Measure N and H carryover budget for Life Academy$179K
- L.-126Approves $339,442.51 Measure N and H carryover budget for Leadership Public Schools Oakland R&D$339K
- L.-127Approves 2023-24 Measure G1 carryover funding requests for named schoolsNo cost stated
- M.-1Hires Cahill Contractors for up to $100,000 of preconstruction work at Melrose Leadership Academy$100Knot to exceed
- M.-2Pays Consolidated Engineering Laboratories up to $35,865.50 for Garfield Elementary inspections$36Knot to exceed
- M.-3Hires Michael Baker International for up to $102,641 of environmental review at Maxwell Park$103Knot to exceed
- M.-4Adds $169,478 and 184 days to Mar Con Builders' Kaiser Child Development Center project+$169Knew total $7.12M
- M.-5Adds $4.06M to keep Cumming Management Group's construction management through 2024-25+$4.06Mnew total $10.1M
How the Board voted on the consent reports
General Consent Report: Approved 7–0, 1 absent
A motion was made by Director Thompson, seconded by Director Brouhard, to Approve the General Consent Report. The motion carried by the following vote
- Michele Vasquez P Abstention
- Maximus Simmons Absent
- Jennifer Brouhard Aye
- VanCedric Williams Aye
- Jorge Lerma Aye
- Valarie Bachelor Aye
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Aye
- Benjamin "Sam" Davis Aye
General Consent Report - General Obligation Bonds - Measures B, J and Y: Approved 5–0, 2 abstaining, 1 absent
A motion was made by Director Thompson, seconded by Director Lerma, to Approve the General Consent Report - General Obligation Bonds - Measures B, J and Y. The motion carried by the following vote
- Michele Vasquez P Abstention
- Maximus Simmons Absent
- Jennifer Brouhard Aye
- VanCedric Williams Abstained
- Jorge Lerma Aye
- Valarie Bachelor Abstained
- Clifford Thompson Aye
- Mike Hutchinson Aye
- Benjamin "Sam" Davis Aye
From the official minutes in Legistar, December 11, 2024 meeting.
This is an independent project created to provide transparency to the OUSD Community, and is not affiliated with Oakland Unified District. All data used to create the Consent Report Tracker is made public by Legistar, OUSD's official platform for posting legislative records. Plain-English summaries are written by AI with narrow parameters based upon the official text of the reports. Read about how all this works.